Reverting Back to the Original (Within the Library)

  • Thread starter Thread starter EvvanM
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

EvvanM

Guest
Hey Guys,

I read an earlier thread about reverting back to an original image. Unfortunately the thread only covered how to do so under the "Develop" mode. I am aware of the Edit -> Undo function, and I understand that Lightroom uses non-distractive editing, so the actual pixels in the file itself should not be altered. I'm wondering if there's a way to go back to the original "look" of a picture after making changes to white balance/temp/tint (in the library mode specifically) and exiting light room. This seems like a pretty basic function, but I did a search for similar topics and couldn't find anything. Hopefully I'm not rehashing old material.

Thanks,

Evan
 
Welcome to Lightroom Forums!

Shift-Command-R. Also Photo/Develop Settings/Reset in the menu.

Be aware that if you're in Grid view on the primary monitor and have multiple images selected, this will reset all selected images.

Edit: If you only wish to reset the white balance, set the white balance to "As Shot" in Quick Develop.
 
[quote author=Mark Sirota link=topic=9'64.msg61'63#msg61'63 date=12647'4813]
Welcome to Lightroom Forums!

Shift-Command-R. Also Photo/Develop Settings/Reset in the menu.

Be aware that if you're in Grid view on the primary monitor and have multiple images selected, this will reset all selected images.

Edit: If you only wish to reset the white balance, set the white balance to "As Shot" in Quick Develop.
[/quote]

Mark ... it is my impression that you need to be very careful with this, as you lose your edits history permanently. If you decide later that you didn't mean to do this, I think it is too late. Am I correct?
 
You are partially correct. The history is retained; the reset is just another history step. So you can just back up to the history step before the reset -- but if it's too late to use Undo, there's no easy way to do that in bulk.
 
I very seldom do any developingwork in the library module (quick develop). However what you do there is recorded in the history panel inside the developmodule. And they are there after closing and opening LR.

You can also use snapshots (in the developmodule).
The first one is created automatically at import. You can yourself make new snapshots whenever you like. And go back to them if needed. Snapshots are also stored in xmp. Read more here: http://www.peachpit.com/guides/content.aspx?g=lightroom&seqNum=196
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top