Library module Reset target of set of smart collections.

Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
35
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
#1
Lightroom Version
6.14 [Perpetual]
Operating System
Windows 10
Hi outthere,

In the library module I have a set of smart collections, based on ISO values. During the construction of the set I had selected 'All photographs' as a target folder. The filtering worked fine.

But now I want to make another folder as a 'target' of the set. I can not do that. Does anyone know a way to solve this?

With kind regards, Martin
 

johnbeardy

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,756
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
#2
No, there's no way to do it automatically.

I do have an unreleased plugin which includes a feature to do it, but that part of the plugin is a long way from being usable.

John
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,462
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
Hi outthere,

In the library module I have a set of smart collections, based on ISO values. During the construction of the set I had selected 'All photographs' as a target folder. The filtering worked fine.

But now I want to make another folder as a 'target' of the set. I can not do that. Does anyone know a way to solve this?

With kind regards, Martin
Martin,

What if you created another smart collection, same criteria, but a different target folder? Or am I misunderstanding your question?

Phil Burton
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
35
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
#4
No, there's no way to do it automatically.

I do have an unreleased plugin which includes a feature to do it, but that part of the plugin is a long way from being usable.

John
I may be a simple soul, but they are called 'smart collections'. That means, in my humble opinion, it should be possible to manually designate another folder as a 'target' .
The 500 € question is: "How?".

Regards, Martin
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
35
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
#5
Martin,

What if you created another smart collection, same criteria, but a different target folder? Or am I misunderstanding your question?

Phil Burton
I thought the power of 'Smart Collections' was that they filled themselves, with the files from the "Target Folder", on the basis of the formulated criteria.

with regards, Martin
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10,999
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#6
I thought the power of 'Smart Collections' was that they filled themselves, with the files from the "Target Folder", on the basis of the formulated criteria.

with regards, Martin
They do fill themselves on the basis of the specified criteria, and you can limit the source (which is what I assume you mean when you use the term "target") of the search to a specific folder, or collection, or publish collection. Is that not what you want?
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
35
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
#7
They do fill themselves on the basis of the specified criteria, and you can limit the source (which is what I assume you mean when you use the term "target") of the search to a specific folder, or collection, or publish collection. Is that not what you want?
Yes Jim, that's what I like to do.... Can you tell me how to 'limit' the source? For sake of simplicity, just now, a specific folder. Mouse-context clicks, I cann't find an option. Neighter do I know a 'menu-option'.

With regards, Martin
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10,999
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#8
It's part of the actual Smart Collection criteria:
 

Attachments

Top