• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Repair of corrupted catalogs

naddl

New Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2015
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Hi!
I'm trying to recover a corrupted Lightroom catalog using sqlite3. I guess I really don't know what I'm doing with sqlite3. I try running the first command and nothing seems to happen. All I get is "...>" I don't see any .sql file created. I have entered the following command:
sqlite> echo .dump | sqlite3 LightroomCatalog.lrcat > recoveredcatalog.sql


 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,798
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Welcome to the forum. Presumably you have no catalog backups to use. It can be very difficult to recover a corrupt catalog, So recovering corrupt catalogs is a last resort process.
If you need to use SQLite tools, I strongly recommend that you get a copy of Navicat Essentials for SQLite http://www.navicat.com/download
It is a GUI front end that has a lot of the maintenance functions accessible via the menu. You can Analyze, Vacuum, & Reindex the database as well as use standard SQL queries to dump and build a new database. Beyond that, it will take a really knowledgable person to rebuild the corrupt database. Victoria has contact with some one at Adobe that has been helpful in this regard in the past.

So, to begin, tell us about your catalog backup situation and how you came to be in this predicament.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Victoria has contact with some one at Adobe that has been helpful in this regard in the past.
Yep, he's still happy for me to pass on problem catalogs, and if anyone can fix it, it'll be Paul.
 

swubbe

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
3
Location
Uden, the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hello,

I am new to this forum, but not new to Lightroom. In general, I believe can perform all the basic tasks to process my images. But now I am faced with an issue and google was so kind to point me to this forum.

My laptop experienced a rather unfortunate crash after the Windows 10 update. It could be resolved, but it meant my harddrive had to be cleared. No problem so far, all my images are on a second drive. Just before I wanted to start the installation, I remembered that for some reason I had placed my Lightroom Catalog on the same drive as Windows. So clearing that drive would also clear my catalog. With the aid of a command prompt (what were those magical DOS commands....?) I manage to copy the .lcat file to the Data drive.
Now that my laptop is freshly installed, I also reinstalled my Lightroom 5.7.1 copy and opened my catalog. Not.

LR tells me the catalog is corrupt. I tried to import the content into a new fresh catalog, but still no succes.
So hopefully somebody here can help me. I read things about extracting information from the database, using software, but I know for sure that is out of my leauge.
Any suggestion would be welcome. It would be a shame to loose 3 years of photowork (and typing this, I think I should have made a catalog per year. Reduces the loss in case of emergencies...)

Many thanks for your response (and now I will explore this forum in more details),
Sjoerd
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,404
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Sometimes I think that Lightroom should behave a little like 'ransomware'. It should lock your computer completely, and not let go until you've connected an external disk and made a proper backup of your entire hard disk... :(
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,798
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hello,

I am new to this forum, but not new to Lightroom. ...
LR tells me the catalog is corrupt. I tried to import the content into a new fresh catalog, but still no success...
Welcome to the forum.

This will be your best chance: #53 if you do not have a recent catalog backup.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

swubbe

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
3
Location
Uden, the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Welcome to the forum.

This will be your best chance: #53 if you do not have a recent catalog backup.
Thanks. I have taken the liberty to upload my file.

@JohanElzenga: Still do not know why I did not place my catalog on the separate Data-drive (with a backup to my NAS...)

Sjoerd
 
Last edited by a moderator:

AOJ

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
1
Location
Barcelona
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi people, first post here ... and you know why, as you can imagine :(

I was working with Lr doing some brush adjustments, when suddenly a light shortage occurred. Now my catalog is corrupt, and none of what I've tried has worked (the usual new catalog and import, doesn't work nor anything found on the internet right now).
Trying SQLite3 dump and init commands doesn't solve the problem:

echo .dump | ./sqlite3 ~/lightroom_catalog.lrcat > ~/lightroom_catalog.sql
seems ok, having an sql file a little bigger than the .lrcat . Then:
./sqlite3 -init ~/lightroom_catalog.sql ~/lightroom_catalog_restore.lrcat
gives me an Error: incomplete SQL: ■P"

Certainly I'm a bit desesperate, and I have no backup of the catalog (stupid wifi auto backup programs ...)
Your help will be MUCH appreciated. Using Lr 5.3 on Windows 10. 170Mb catalog file.
 

hassiman

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2009
Messages
305
Location
California
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Not exactly sure what I am dealing wth her... any ideas?



I am in a bit of a pickle. I have been having NO trouble with LR CC 2015.

Two weeks ago I got back from a short vacation and imported 277 RAW NEF files from my Nikon D810 into LR CC. I THOUGHT everything was fine until the next day when I took the same 64GB SanDisk SD card to work to copy the files to my work computer… It said that the files on the SD cared were corrupt and unreadable. Yikes!

I went home and started up the MacPro ( New MacPro 4 core, running 16GB RAM and Yosemite. ) Connected the calDigit Thunderbolt 2 RAID 1 TS external which houses my LRCAT data and had a look. In the Library Module Loupe View You could see the loupe views BUT also a full image display behind the image tiles ( as shown in the attached screen shot. ). Strangely enough when the library view is open as shown on the images the loupe tile will move around when my mouse cursor moves across the Loupe view display area…



Fortunately the NEF files themselves are all there and can be opened. I was able to find them and copy all 277 files onto a flash drive.

I was wondering if I should DELETE all 277 images from the LR Catalog through LR and re-import from the flash drive?

Some people have said I should delete my LR CC Preference file but I am hoping to avoid that. I seems as though all of my previously imported files display just normally.

I was trying to figure out just what happened and all I can think of is that the SanDisk 64GB SD card was an SDXC card and with that reader ( 5 years old.) I had only previously used 8 & 32 GB SDHC cards. Bought a new Hoodman reader…

What do you think I should do? REMOVE and re-import from the folders already there? Delete and re-import from the Flash drive? Delete the Preference file? If I have to delete the preference file will I need to re-do the Copyright preset that is applied to all of my images on import?

Thanks for your time.
 

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,602
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If you think the problem was caused by a faulty card reader, and if you still have the original images on the SD card, why not do what was suggested in your other thread? Select the "Previous Import" or, if you've done other imports since, find the folder containing those 277 images, select them all, right-click, select Remove, use the Delete from Disk option.

Before re-importing, does that removal clear up the problem? BTW, is that "chequer-board effect" actually on the screen, or it it just an odd effect from taking a picture of the screen?

If the problem seems cleared, re-import using the new card reader.

No, you wouldn't lose your copyright preset if you trash the preferences file....see here.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

hassiman

Active Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2009
Messages
305
Location
California
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks Jim.... I will give it a shot. The original files on the SD card were totally corrupted... even my D810 could not read then so I re-formatted in the camera. I WAS able to go into my LR catalog area and find those files and copied them to a thumb drive.
So what you are saying is to use the option that will totally delete the imported files from the hard drive and then re-import them from the thumb drive as the originals on the SDXC card no longer exist, correct?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Happy to help Sjoerd! Love the minion!
 

RCD

New Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2015
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Another corrupt catalog problem

I just processed a new batch of photos in Lightroom CC. Was able to edit and deleted photos just fine. I then removed my SD card while Lightroom was still up. All my files and catalog are installed on a Drobo. I think in removing the SD card from my laptop I lifted the edge of it and possibly the connection to the Drobo was lost. I say that because doing troubleshooting a short time later, checking the status of the Drobo it wasn't connected. The long and short is my catalog is corrupt and needs to be fixed. I've tried all the suggestions to no avail. Backups are done weekly but it is corrupt as well. Can I send my catalog file in to have someone look at it? Any help would be most appreciated.

thanks
Bob
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yikes. I can pass it on to my contact at Adobe (he might be at the Max conference this week). Zip up the lrcat file and use www.wetransfer.com or Dropbox to send it to [email protected].

How come the backup's corrupt too?
 

Ferdinand

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
HELP

I needed to recover my LR catalog because of a system crash. I got the file back, but it seems to be corrupted. I also restored my backup folder, but the backups seem to be corrupted, too.

Is there any chance, that i can send my file to any of you guys in order to repair it?

Oh it is a LR 5.6 catalog and i am working on a windows 7 64-bit system.

Got quite an amount of work in that catalog...


Ferdinand
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yep, follow the instructions above and the magician will see what he can do, but whether it's repairable will depend on how the corruption was caused. You didn't have a backup on another hard drive I guess?
 

Ferdinand

New Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2015
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thank you very much!

No unfortunately i did not... :/
 

Ukdalr

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
1
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi Victoria, I am hoping you can get your Lightroom wizard assist with the recovery of my catalog. I just finished culling a whole stack of images from a recent wedding, I subsequently had my pc lose power on the same day - resulting the "not recoginsed as a valid catalog" issue. Unfortunately, the backup doesn't contain my most recent updates that I made over the last 3-4 days. Would greatly appreciate any assistance!
 

Amraiz Yasin

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Lightroom Queen. I have all my fingers, legs and toes crossed that you can help me. A lovely guy from Germany called Holger has been looking at my corrupt catalog and has been trying to fix it with the SQLight tools / processes. Unfortunately he is struggling somewhat and has referred me to yourselves as the best way to go, I have literally thousands of images that have been edited but not exported as full res JPEGS. Nor have I backuped up the catalog.
Sadly my external hardrive failed and once most of the files were recovered, the lightroom cataolg has not loaded since and I'm very stressed as to how I can fix this. please please help.

 

holgermischke

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2014
Messages
5
Location
Grefrath, Germany
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Lightroom Queen. I have all my fingers, legs and toes crossed that you can help me. A lovely guy from Germany called Holger has been looking at my corrupt catalog and has been trying to fix it with the SQLight tools / processes. Unfortunately he is struggling somewhat and has referred me to yourselves as the best way to go, I have literally thousands of images that have been edited but not exported as full res JPEGS. Nor have I backuped up the catalog.
Sadly my external hardrive failed and once most of the files were recovered, the lightroom cataolg has not loaded since and I'm very stressed as to how I can fix this. please please help.
Just to provide more info: Amraiz could not open the file anymore. After the recreation of the LRCAT file using sqlite it was only about170 MB (the original file was 417 MB). I managed to open it in Lightroom 5.7.1, but there was nothing there. No reference to any photos at all. I looked at the SQL file extracted from the original catalog file, tried the same procedure without the transaction commands, but still - no images. I hope you all can help Amraiz.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,684
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi Amraiz & Holger, welcome to the forum!

No backup catalogs anywhere to be found? Perhaps on another drive?

If you'd like to zip the original file and send it to using www.wetransfer.com to [email protected], I'll pass it on to a Lightroom engineer, who has the best shot at recovering it, if it's recoverable.
 

Amraiz Yasin

New Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2016
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Amraiz & Holger, welcome to the forum!

No backup catalogs anywhere to be found? Perhaps on another drive?

If you'd like to zip the original file and send it to using www.wetransfer.com to [email protected], I'll pass it on to a Lightroom engineer, who has the best shot at recovering it, if it's recoverable.

Hi Victoria, thank you so much for the taking the time to reply. sadly I never new the value of backing up the catalog and always 'skipped' that option when closing the application. something I will no doubt live to regret :( .

Thanks for email address, I will the original file via we transfer to you.

Admittedly I really didn't think i'd get a response on this forum so I'm really happy that there really are kind people in the world that genuinely like to try and help where they can. Thank you
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,404
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Hi Victoria, thank you so much for the taking the time to reply. sadly I never new the value of backing up the catalog and always 'skipped' that option when closing the application. something I will no doubt live to regret :(.

Thanks for email address, I will the original file via we transfer to you.

Admittedly I really didn't think i'd get a response on this forum so I'm really happy that there really are kind people in the world that genuinely like to try and help where they can. Thank you
As you use a Macintosh, don't you have a Time Machine backup? If you don't, buy an external HD today and start making backups! No doubt you have more valuable stuff on your HD than just a Lightroom catalog...
 
Top