• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Rendering problems in Develop module

Jim Cleworth

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
24
Location
Michigan, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic V8.4
Operating System
Windows 10
I have started having rendering problems in the develop module. Here is a screen print of one example:
1568149392364.png


I am using the new GPU settings for display and image processing. My GPU is a Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 2GB. My system has 64 GB Intel i7-8700k @3.70 GHz RAM. I am also getting "Lightroom unresponsive" messages and light flashes. I didn't see my GPU listed as one that is not supported in the new release.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,565
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Is the GPU setting on "Auto, Custom or Off". I'm not sure what I am seeing but it looks like there is a rectangle that is over saturated and perhaps flipped R2L. Does this image always render this way? Does it look the same in full view Library mode? What is the size of your monitor in pixels? I'm thinking that Videos errors for lack of a better term is more likely a video problem or a video driver problem. And LR is sending the correct data to the screen and the video driver is failing to handle it.
 

Jim Cleworth

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
24
Location
Michigan, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
GPU setting is on custom with both boxes checked. Yes, you are seeing a rectangle that is not correct. If I click on a different photo and click back on this one it will go away. When making develop adjustments, say with a slider, I am getting large boxes of color popping up and disappearing and also these boxes that don't go away unless I click off the photo and re render it. My monitor is 22" 1920x1080. I have not seen this problem in Library full screen mode or anywhere else.
 

Jim Cleworth

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
24
Location
Michigan, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Here is another example that just happened:
1568156701126.png


As you can see, a big black box. This was in crop mode. I am going to try switching the GPU setting back to auto. I have more work to do tomorrow.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,507
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I'd try completely uninstalling all traces of the graphics card driver and then reinstalling.
 

Jim Cleworth

New Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2016
Messages
24
Location
Michigan, USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Did as you suggested Victoria - Uninstalled the graphic driver, 3D vision driver and HD audio driver, then reinstalled. Spent several hours banging away in develop today with no major issues - just a little lag-y at times. Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,507
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Great, thanks for the update Jim!
 
Top