• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • The February 2020 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic has a brand new Defaults system, the ability to set a specific monitor for the secondary window and PSB format support. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has the ability to import presets on Android, DNG export and Split View support on iPadOS. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.

Re-importing from internal drive to external

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I just returned from a road trip. My photos were imported to my laptop hard drive during the time I was away. Now I would like to move those photos to my external drive and organize them by date. As the photos are already imported Lightroom won't let me simply move them and re-organize them.

I am missing something simple ... can anyone help me out?
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Does the external drive show up in your Folders panel? If so, there's no reason why Lightroom won't let you simply move them.
How do I move only my photos to another hard drive
Thanks for your reply. Yes, the external shows up - I have all my photos from 2016 on that drive. My problem is that I not only put the new photos on my internal drive while I was away but also that I imported them into Lightroom. Now, when I want to put them on the external, by date, Lightroom sees them as already imported and won't let me do anything with them.
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
In Lightroom, drag the folder with the images from the internal HD to the external HD.
Thank you Johan. Can I apply the filter that rearranges them by date. The problem with the folder on the internal drive is that it is undifferentiated by date. I suppose I can live with that though.
 

john.jcb

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
8
Location
Illinois US
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I think you will need to set up your desired folder structure on the external drive and then drag the images while in LR in batches to the new structure.
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Thanks John and Johan. I think you are right. Oh well, it's only two weeks of wonderful Arizona. I can manage. :) You are all very kind to help me out.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,107
Location
Walnut Creek, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Maybe I missed something, but this might work.

Lr won't let you import the same file. But you could delete the AZ images from Lr's (but NOT from your internal drive!). Then go into the import module, and instead of using "ADD" use "MOVE" and choose a date-based option for the destination on your external. But be CAREFUL: if you delete them from the catalog to do this I expect you'd lose info related to those images already stored in the catalog. So it would be useful ONLY if you hadn't done much of anything to edit, etc the images. And be sure you have a backup first.
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Maybe I missed something, but this might work.

Lr won't let you import the same file. But you could delete the AZ images from Lr's (but NOT from your internal drive!). Then go into the import module, and instead of using "ADD" use "MOVE" and choose a date-based option for the destination on your external. But be CAREFUL: if you delete them from the catalog to do this I expect you'd lose info related to those images already stored in the catalog. So it would be useful ONLY if you hadn't done much of anything to edit, etc the images. And be sure you have a backup first.
That might work Rob. I'll give it a go. I have all the original photos on my cards in any case so if importing from the internal drive doesn't work I still have my backup so that I can just re-import. Thanks.
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Like you said: You can do that, but you will lose everything (edits, keywords) you've already done with these photos, so normally that's a very bad idea.
As I haven't done anything but the most rudimentary edits I won't lose anything. I didn't keyword. I just have a folder on the internal drive entitled "Arizona". Deleting it isn't a complete problem.
 

Katherine Mann

Active Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2007
Messages
290
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
By "rudimentary edits" I mean those quick first passes that I make before settling in to do some serious work. Normally I use Lightroom for categorizing and organizing my photos, do a quick edit to get the histogram in order before I move to Ps for serious work. I am not saying that Lr isn't a full-fledged brilliant program, but I have been a photoshopper for twenty years and feel more confident working with it.

What I finally did to solve my problem was to remove the Arizona photos that I had imported into Lr while on the road and then I imported from the original card, unclicking the "do not import suspected duplicates" function. It worked fine.

Thanks everyone for your help. I admit that the solution was actually quite simple but I could not get my head around it this morning.
 
Top