question about migrating to new computer

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic, latest version
Operating System
Windows 10
I'm about to buy a newer, swifter system -- 8 year old architecture is getting too troubled by all the LR & PS CC advances (and the hardware is slowly giving up.) Since my computer background extends way back into DOS days, I stayed folder oriented as I added pix. The I realized that in order to get my travel images, with their edits, onto my regular computer I had to export them as a catalog. Since that was just a small set, I had no problems. Soon I will be faced with a much more complicated situation.

Hence my question -- how do I do this transfer & get everything over to the new system? Everything now includes, not only the raw files & all the post processing, and the resultant jpg's, but also tiff files, psd files (because I played around a lot with the jpgs,) and moto z jpgs that my phone spits out (that often go through LR processing to improve what motorola gives me.) As

I write this, I am thinking that hand copying everything, then going into the old LT & creating catalogs of major pieces, exporting these & them importing them into the new computer might be the only way to get it all over. Is this true? Is there a better way?
 

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
It's a link. Just click on it.
I am totally baffled. The only links coming through are your website & fb page, and the line with 'report quote reply'. I've attached a snip of what I see.
 

Attachments

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,831
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
Hi pelha, just checking you found it ok. You'd actually quoted the link in your reply to Johan. The blog post he linked to will walk you through how to transfer to the new computer.
 

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
ah, finally. thanks, Victoria for reminding me -- I am able to see the link on firefox, but wasn't able to on my extension protected chrome. i hadn't gotten to trying firefox before this morning because i bought the new computer thursday & have been in new system hell ever since ,

new question -- how do i print the instructions? the page seems to be protected from printing.

thanks for your in & help!
 

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
btw, i just copied & paster the info into ms word.

and, thanks!
charlotte
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,831
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
There's nothing at our end stopping printing, so it might be another of those fun extensions!
 

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
yes, i have to use firefox when i want to change anything in my smugmug account. i could take off the chrome incognito, etc extensions, but i sometimes do some wild tech searches. btw, i may be back with more transfer questions next weekend -- i had to order an external drive to handle the file transfers. (i can't just out & buy since we're iced in for a couple of days.)
 

Schwei66

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2019
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
5.x
Hello everyone,
I am in the process of moving Lightroom over to my new computer. I am using Lightroom 5. On a windows based system (from win 7 to win 10)I have found the post about doing the transfer which will be so helpful in that process. My question is
I have over 20000 photos that are in my catalog. I have my folders and tags organized the way I would like to keep them. (Also my files on the hard drive in the my picture folder) But I would like to get my catalog file set up transferred without putting all 20000 photos on my new hard drive I have them backed up on a external hard drive as a catalog back up and a my pictures file.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thank you
 

LouieSherwin

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,414
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Hi and welcome to the forums.

I suggest that you start by reading this article: How do I move Lightroom to a new computer?

With only 20,000 images I am wondering what you are trying to accomplish by leaving part of your images behind. It can be done but it creates all sorts of management issues.

-louie
 

pelha

New Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2015
Messages
13
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
I couldn't get LR to see my presets, was driving me batty this morning i ran across this page:
What changed about Presets with Lightroom Classic 7.3 and Lightroom CC 1.3? .
i gather what i've been trying to install on my new machine has been the old format presets. so exactly how do i install the new format, where do i find these files one my old machine? (which i'm assuming exists somewhere there. if not i'll have to re-activate that in my adobe 2-fer & will need to ask how to create them.)
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,831
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
If you put the "old" presets in the "old" location, Lightroom will convert them when it opens.
 
Top