• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Develop module Programming Lightroom

pedz

Perry Smith
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
67
Location
Leander, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 10.4 [ 202108071231-af9219b9 ]
Operating System
  1. macOS 11 Big Sur
I think I bit off more than I can chew.
Last night for the moon rise, I set up my camera to take 3 exposures at +/- 1 stop every 30 seconds. Then I was going to merge each set and make a video of them.
I now have 900 images so I would need to merge 300 sets. That might take me the rest of my life :) Is there a way to program Lightroom to merge 3, then move to the next 3 and merge them, rinse and repeat?
I know that Photoshop is programmable. I did it way back in the dark ages before LR but I haven't done it since but would need to research how to do that so I thought I'd ask here about LR first.
 

Woodbutcher

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
217
Location
Austin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I think the best you can do in LR is to select 3, control-shift-h, which puts it in the queue to merge without bringing up the dialog box, then move to the next 3 and do the same thing. I'm not sure how many of those it will let you queue up, but it will work though two at a time from the queue.

Otherwise, I think you have to go with the more powerful scripting in Photoshop.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2012
Messages
1,103
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
1. Select all the photos and do Photo > Stacking > Auto-Stack By Capture Time. That will put each group of three brackets into their own stack.

2. Do Photo > Stacking > Collapse All Stacks to ensure all the stacks are collapsed.

3. Select all the collapsed stacks and do Photo > Photo Merge > HDR. This will enqueue merges of the photos of each of the stacks, using the last-used HDR settings.
 

pedz

Perry Smith
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
67
Location
Leander, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I think the best you can do in LR is to select 3, control-shift-h, which puts it in the queue to merge without bringing up the dialog box, then move to the next 3 and do the same thing. I'm not sure how many of those it will let you queue up, but it will work though two at a time from the queue.

Otherwise, I think you have to go with the more powerful scripting in Photoshop.
That was quicker than trying to write a program. My queue is now 253 items. Took about a half hour to queue all of them up once I got into a groove.

Thank you!
 

pedz

Perry Smith
Joined
Sep 23, 2014
Messages
67
Location
Leander, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
1. Select all the photos and do Photo > Stacking > Auto-Stack By Capture Time. That will put each group of three brackets into their own stack.

2. Do Photo > Stacking > Collapse All Stacks to ensure all the stacks are collapsed.

3. Select all the collapsed stacks and do Photo > Photo Merge > HDR. This will enqueue merges of the photos of each of the stacks, using the last-used HDR settings.
I didn't see this in time. But I'm going to try it out next time. Wow!
 

Woodbutcher

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
217
Location
Austin, TX
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
That was quicker than trying to write a program. My queue is now 253 items. Took about a half hour to queue all of them up once I got into a groove.

Thank you!
Glad I could help. And just noticed you are "just around the corner" from me, in a Texas sort of way. I'm actually on the west side of Round Rock.
 
Top