• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Lightroom Classic 8.0 and Lightroom CC 2.0 (desktop) and Lightroom CC 4.0 (mobile) have just gone live. My books are already updated for the changes.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom CC desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

Problem straightening horizon with the crop tool.

AngelaS

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#1
Hello. My problem relates to straightening with the crop tool - when you hover your cursor just outside the edge of the photo until your cursor changes to a curved double-ended arrow, and then you rotate the photo within the frame.
My crop tool starts off with the usual grid of nine. However, yesterday, without explanation, the overlying grid that appears as a reference to help make the horizon level has changed to a grid of lots of tiny squares. I find this very distracting and much harder to see the lines on the image below. I can't quite remember what size the grid was before, but it certainly wasn't so many tiny, distracting squares. There must be a setting somewhere to change it back, but I just can't find it.

Please help! It's driving me nuts!

Many thanks,
Angela.
 

AngelaS

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
Hello Johan,
Thanks for your reply. I've already tried this, but it only changes the grid overlay that appears when you first click the crop tool. The grid that then appears secondly to rotate does not change when you toggle through O. (At least it doesn't on my pc!)
Anyone else please?!
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,621
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#4
Hello Johan,
Thanks for your reply. I've already tried this, but it only changes the grid overlay that appears when you first click the crop tool. The grid that then appears secondly to rotate does not change when you toggle through O. (At least it doesn't on my pc!)
Anyone else please?!
That second grid is supposed to be like that. It's to help you to see that the lines are really straight. AFAIK, it has always been like that, but since the latest update it's more visual than in the past. You can't change the grid, but you can turn it off in the lower left corner by setting the Overlay to 'Never'.
 

AngelaS

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#5
Ah... It does look very bold, so much so that I can hardly see the image beneath. I presumed that previously the squares were larger. If I can dial down the darkness of the lines it would help.
 

AngelaS

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#7
So... This was driving me mad because I knew the grid didn't used to be so small. I have pulled up LR on my laptop (LR Classic 7.3.1) and confirmed what I thought. On there, the grid that appears in order to straighten IS larger. The squares are twice the size of those that suddenly appeared on my other pc, (LR Classic 7.4) approx 22 squares across the image, and less bold too.

Please can anyone confirm whether this grid can be switched back to the larger size?

Or out of interest, how many squares does everyone else get when they use this straighten tool? (When you hover your cursor just outside the edge of the photo until your cursor changes to a curved double-ended arrow, and then you rotate the photo within the frame)
And which version are you on?

thanks,
Angela.
 

AngelaS

New Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#9
Johan, it is not a case of me not believing you. My concern was that you said "it has always been like that, but since the latest update it's more visual than in the past " and my head was telling me that no, it has not always been like that. I knew that it used to be a different size.
No-one has told me yet that the latest update has made the squares smaller for everyone, that is what I am trying to establish. If other users tell me that yes, the latest update reduced the size of the squares and there's nothing to be done, then that's that and I'll just have to live with it.

Please don't take my previous post as it was not intended.
Angela.
 

DGStinner

Active Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2015
Messages
384
Location
New Jersey
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#10
If the squares are distracting, use the level tool inside the crop tool. Just draw a line that should be horizontal or vertical and Lightroom will rotate accordingly.
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
10,916
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#11
Johan, it is not a case of me not believing you. My concern was that you said "it has always been like that, but since the latest update it's more visual than in the past " and my head was telling me that no, it has not always been like that. I knew that it used to be a different size.
No-one has told me yet that the latest update has made the squares smaller for everyone, that is what I am trying to establish. If other users tell me that yes, the latest update reduced the size of the squares and there's nothing to be done, then that's that and I'll just have to live with it.

Please don't take my previous post as it was not intended.
Angela.
Asking people to count the number of squares is probably a waste of time, as the number of visible squares will change depending upon the visible area of the image on the screen, and that will be affected by LR panel display and size, screen size/resolution, etc. The size of the grid squares does not scale if you increase/decrease the display area, thus the number of squares will increase/decrease accordingly. For what it's worth, I've just compared LR5, LR6 and LR7.5 and I see no difference in the size of the grid squares. But that's on the same monitor, whereas if I compared between the same LR version on two different monitors, each with a significantly different resolution, then I most certainly would expect to see a difference.

So, the question is: what is the screen resolution used on your two systems?
 

Dan Marchant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
118
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
#12
Turn off the overlay and use the Angle tool instead - levelling the image is what the Angle tool is for.
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,426
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#13
A
...
For what it's worth, I've just compared LR5, LR6 and LR7.5 and ...

...
Jim,

I have to ask you this. How do you maintain installs of LR 5, LR 6, and LR 7.5 on one system. Doesn't your catalog or your preferences files get hopelessly confused?

Phil Burton
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,621
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#14
Jim,

I have to ask you this. How do you maintain installs of LR 5, LR 6, and LR 7.5 on one system. Doesn't your catalog or your preferences files get hopelessly confused?

Phil Burton
Each installation uses its own catalog and preference file.
 
Top