• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Potential bug in moving files in Classic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jimmsp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,160
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
LR Classic V7.x
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
I just returned from a long trip where I took a lot of photos. I imported them into LR Classic V7 on my laptop and post processed them. They were all on my C drive
When I returned home, I moved the LR catalog back to my desktop (a internal different SSD drive) and the photos into one "Travel" photo on the C drive inside of my upper level folder called "Work in Progress".
After "finding" the Travel folder in LR - all was good. All the photos were in LR and on my desktop.

Then I began to reorganize, moving all of the new folders in "Work in Progress" into older upper level folders on an internal HD. I used LR to do this by just the convenient clicking and dragging of folders containing the photos.
When I was done - all was still well and good as far as LR was concerned. This was 3 weeks ago before the v8 update.

However, today as I was doing some routine computer maintenance, I noticed (using File Explorer) that most of the folders and photos that I thought I had moved from the SSD drive to the internal HD were still on the SSD.
Basically I had done a "copy" with the files, not a "move" .
I don't believe that this had happened to me before when moving files to another drive.
All of these were lower level subfolders, and I don't know if that made a difference.

Has anyone else seen this behavior when moving files between drives using the LR "drag and drop" ?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,735
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Jim, do the folders that are still on the SSD drive still contain (a copy of) the images that should have been moved to the HD?
 

Jimmsp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,160
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Jim, do the folders that are still on the SSD drive still contain (a copy of) the images that should have been moved to the HD?
Yes they do (or did, as I deleted them through file explorer). My quick look & comparison through the folders showed all of the photos present. And the upper level folder was also still there.

The puzzling thing is that it hadn't happened previously.
When I returned from travel, I updated LR on Sept 30 to whatever the latest rev of LR v7 was at that time, as well as a few WIn 10 OS updates.
I doubt if any test I do now will have any bearing as I am now on LR v8.

I am not going to worry about it, but I am going to double check the next "move" when I do it later this week.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,689
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It could be a permissions issue where LR was not able to delete the files after they were copied.

As an aside I pretty much always use an external copy app when moving between computers and/or hard drives. It is both quicker and I believe safer because it always leaves the originals untouched. So if anything goes wrong you can simply recopy.

-louie
 

Jimmsp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,160
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It could be a permissions issue where LR was not able to delete the files after they were copied.

As an aside I pretty much always use an external copy app when moving between computers and/or hard drives. It is both quicker and I believe safer because it always leaves the originals untouched. So if anything goes wrong you can simply recopy.

Louie - I doubt it was a permission issue. The initial SSD drive is one that import into, and cull from. So LR has deleted files from there in the past.
And I have used LR to move folders of files to the larger spinner HD before, with no issues.

In general, I do the same as you - I move very large folders of files between HDs using Windows File Explorer. That's how the large "Travel" folder got to the SSD drive in the first place. Then I attempted to move folders inside of Travel to varying places on the HD using LR. The copy went just fine, but the "delete originals" failed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top