• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

"PHantom" keyword

Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
2
Lightroom Version
V9.2.1
Operating System
Windows 10
Hello all - My first posting as a new member
I have a frustrating issue with my Lightroom Classic installation. I have used LR since the very early days and not unnaturally after some 43,000 retained images, I ended up with an illogical keyword structure. I just recently spent a few days regularising my default keywords and have ended up with an odd problem.
I know that I used to have a keyword "Parvin" (my partner) and I recently changed all family names to include surnames, so as far as I remember, I changed "Parvin<Family" to "Parvin Lindley<Family". That worked and I thought that would be the end of it. However ever since then, when I try and allocation "Parvin Lindley", I get a drop-down with the old "Parvin" included. "Parvin" is not in the keyword list and if I try and allocate it to an image I get the error "An internal error has occurred: can't apply this tag to this image".
I have exported the keyword list to a text file and there is no "Parvin". I tried adding a root "Parvin", importing the file and then deleting it in Lightroom, but made no difference. Recent upgrades to LR classic had no influen
Clearly this is not a show stopper, but both intriguing and irritating.
I reckon that "Parvin" is still in the relevant lightroom database table, but I don't know how to get direct access to the database, or what the relevant linked table would be .
Does anyone have any ideas?
Parvin keyword selection.jpg
Parvin keyword error.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,193
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
This dropdown list is a suggestion list based upon recently used Keywords. They may not exist in your current keyword list especially if you have been "regularizing". AFAIK these are not stored in the catalog. The may be stored in preferences but I doubt that such a large list would be found there. Eventually "Parvin" will roll off the list,
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
2
I've just solved my own question. Googling "lightroom catalog format" turned up the information that the .lrcat file is a SQLite database. So ,using "SQLite Studio" database client I opened the database and looked for "keyword" in the list of tables. It didn't take long to discover that all keywords are stored in the table "AgLibraryKeyword". On examining the data, I found that "Parvin" was indeed in the table and a unique index field "parent" was in fact NULL. This should be impossible and accounts for the error message I had been receiving in Lightroom. I deleted the record and on opening LR I found that when keywording an image, I got as far as "pa" to discover that "Parvin" had indeed disappeared for good. Problem solved and a lesson learnt.

This circumstance must date back to a table corruption at some time in the past. There is no way that the "parent" field could legitimately be null. The table structure disallows null in what is a key index field. How did it happen? - Beats me,
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,193
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
There is no way that the "parent" field could legitimately be null. The table structure disallows null in what is a key index field. How did it happen? - Beats me,
It has been some time since I opened the Lightroom Catalog in a SQLlite database manager. but top level keyword have no parent but can be the parent to other keywords. This is how Lightroom builds a keyword hierarchy. I think it might be possible that there were two Parvin keywords. One at the top level and one at the sub level of family. You only looked for where you thought it should be.

If you export an image and reimport the exported file, the keywords come back as a flat structure
Look at this keyword list. All of the place names are children of the keyword Locale and came back in as flat when I imported the images that contained them. So they appear twice in my keyword list that needs a lot of clean up.
1593729439404.png
 

Roelof Moorlag

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
1,311
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I've just solved my own question. Googling "lightroom catalog format" turned up the information that the .lrcat file is a SQLite database. So ,using "SQLite Studio" database client I opened the database and looked for "keyword" in the list of tables. It didn't take long to discover that all keywords are stored in the table "AgLibraryKeyword". On examining the data, I found that "Parvin" was indeed in the table and a unique index field "parent" was in fact NULL. This should be impossible and accounts for the error message I had been receiving in Lightroom. I deleted the record and on opening LR I found that when keywording an image, I got as far as "pa" to discover that "Parvin" had indeed disappeared for good. Problem solved and a lesson learnt.

This circumstance must date back to a table corruption at some time in the past. There is no way that the "parent" field could legitimately be null. The table structure disallows null in what is a key index field. How did it happen? - Beats me,
Good work!
I consider modifying the database as higher school guru work
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,193
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Good work!
I consider modifying the database as higher school guru work
Modifying the LrC database outside of Lightroom without understanding the table dependencies and indexes can corrupt your catalog. I would recommend working on a copy before replacing your master catalog with your altered file.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Top