Passive mode prevents upload of revised gallery

  • Thread starter Thread starter Limages
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Limages

Guest
Hi all.

I uploaded a gallery yesterday to a new site and it went just fine. Then today I saw that I'd forgotten to activate my copyright info using the caption tool. So I revised my template with that and a bit more copy in the About These Photos view. When I uploaded, the changes didn't appear. Then I realized it must be because I selected (the highly recommended!!!) Passive Mode. So a file with the same name (in this case index.html) being uploaded won't overwrite the file on the server, even if it's a revised file. I set the FTP to Non Passive and got a stern warning. Tried uploading and it failed.

If I go back to PM, how do I get my revised gallery up? Do I delete it from the actual host server first?

Anyone else have this situation? I mean, what if we add some new images, new info, etc? That's bound to happen with time. How does one get their revised version up? And why is Non Passive so naughty?

Thanks so much for any thoughts,

Liz
 
Passive mode has nothing to do with this. That's a difference in the underlying FTP protocol, affecting which way the connection is set up. It won't affect whether files are overwritten or not.

That said, I can't comment on the real problem. Certainly deleting what's up there should do the trick, but I'd think that shouldn't be necessary. I wonder whether the upload is succeeding, but you're viewing a cached version in your browser.
 
It worked!

Hey Mark,

I tried refreshing after uploading because, yes, I was getting there by bookmark, but still got the same old gallery. Closed down after I wrote my message and just opened it up again and it was updated! So maybe it takes a while at the server for changes to occur.

But about your message: Yikes, I don't understand!!! :)

It doesn't matter, I guess. But the LR Help is no help. Under "Set up an FTP preset" it says:

"5. Select Use Passive Mode For Data Transfers so that only new files are uploaded to the web server. Files on the web server with the same name as files being uploaded are not overwritten."

So it's confusing! But, ANYhoo. It got revised.

Thanks for your quick response.

Liz
 
Passive mode is a general setting that is used by a lot of FTP servers. Not all. My server specifically says I need to switch passive off.
Lightroom's FTP is a bit weak. It's much better in the Beta though..
 
Limages;16'67 said:
It doesn't matter, I guess. But the LR Help is no help. Under "Set up an FTP preset" it says:

"5. Select Use Passive Mode For Data Transfers so that only new files are uploaded to the web server. Files on the web server with the same name as files being uploaded are not overwritten."

As you say, Yikes! Unless there's something particularly unusual about Lightroom's FTP client, that help information is flat-out wrong. I'll send a note to the powers that be...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top