• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for iOS, Android, Windows, Mac, and Web? Then you'll love my book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit on the Go!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Outsourcing workflows

aygrossphotography

New Member
Joined
May 5, 2023
Messages
2
Lightroom Version Number
13.3
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
  2. Windows 11
. I typically edit for other photographers using a catolog and smart preview workflow in lightroom classic. I just got a request from a photographer who uses cc If I can edit for them. Is there any sort of workflow to edit in classic and then send it back up to cc .
 
Look in the help file for the Chapter- This might be what you are after.

Create a group album and invite others to contribute​

https://helpx.adobe.com/au/lightroom-cc/using/save-share-photos.html#GroupAlbum

Your client would need to share an album so you can edit in Lightroom (Not Lightroom-Classic) and (I presume) be at the same Version of Lr. Have not done this myself, so interested in your results.

"Can Edit and Contribute The invitee will be allowed to add photos to the shared album and make photo edits. Multiple people can make edits to a photo and you can view the various edits in the Auto tab of the Versions panel."
 
Your client would need to share an album so you can edit in Lightroom (Not Lightroom-Classic) and (I presume) be at the same Version of Lr. Have not done this myself, so interested in your results.

Yes, that works and is very simple. But as you say, the OP would be restricted to editing in one of the Lightroom apps because "Shared with You" albums do not appear in LrC.

If the need is to edit in LrC, it's a more complicated process: LrC user shares empty album with the client, set to "Can Contribute", on receipt client adds the images to be edited into that album which will subsequently appear in the user's LrC. Although the user can then edit in LrC, they are working on a COPY of the clients's images which are actually in the user's cloud space. Client can see the edited images, but they are separate from their original images in their cloud space. Replacing those originals with the edited versions might be tricky, and I'm not actually sure of the best way to do that, I would need to do some further testing.
 
Before we can really answer, there's an essential question... when the photographer says they're using Lightroom CC (which is now just called Lightroom), what kind of device are they using? And if desktop, are they storing their photos in the Cloud, or are they using the Local tab? And what file format?

If they're using the Local tab, then yes absolutely, no trouble. Rob & Jim are both assuming they're using Cloud storage, which is probably correct, but there's an important distinction as far as your involvement is concerned.
 
@Victoria Bampton - Assuming the OP's client is using the 'Local Tab' then I suspect it might require them sending the original files (as copies via dropbox etc) and having the OP editor return only the XMP files (back via Dropbox?) to match up (replace) any XMPs for the clients original files.
 
@Victoria Bampton - Assuming the OP's client is using the 'Local Tab' then I suspect it might require them sending the original files (as copies via dropbox etc) and having the OP editor return only the XMP files (back via Dropbox?) to match up (replace) any XMPs for the clients original files.
Yep. That's how post-production companies always used to work.
 
Back
Top