• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Original stored locally ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mylesvk

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
16
Location
North Port Florida
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
oOperating System: Mac OS

Lightroom Version: 7
(Please go to Help menu > System Info to double check the exact version number)

Question or Description of Problem: When LR CC says " store original locally" What does that mean?

Where is locally ? Is locally in my lightroom Classic ? And, what exactly is the little z, or lightening

bolt top left on photos coming into LR Classic from LR CC ?
 

mylesvk

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
16
Location
North Port Florida
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Appreciate that Cletus, your confirming what I kinda thought. Was playing around with LR CC and came upon that "store original locally" . Just a point of information, Store original locally is not turned on by default. Fooling around with my phone and lightroom mobile and LR CC , Its pretty kool how quickly everything syncs and how quickly photos turn up in my LR Classic.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,639
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Its pretty kool how quickly everything syncs and how quickly photos turn up in my LR Classic.
Try it with 17000 photos in the cloud and 32GB of RAM. I have not managed to sync more than a few hundred images back to LR Classic with out consuming 50GB of RAM memory and killing my Mac. Unless you have Lots of TBs of empty storage, you do not want to "store original locally"
 

AllanH

New Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2017
Messages
3
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I did a test yesterday and deleted an image on mobile. The image disappeared from CC Desktop as expected. What I didn't expect was that the image also disappeared from from the CC "store image local" folder I had set. I thought this would be an archive location, but it actually is just a synced copy of what you have active in the cloud.

Additionally, I had migrated my images from Classic, and the deleted image remained in Classic but was no longer synced to the cloud.

I really see no point in having the CC "store Image local" turned on if you are also syncing out of Classic and already storing on folders.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I really see no point in having the CC "store Image local" turned on if you are also syncing out of Classic and already storing on folders.

Agreed. That's the way I'm working, with that option not selected. If I was LRCC-only, it would be different, but there's nothing up in the cloud system that isn't also on my hard drive under Classic management, so no need for that extra copy (apart from a "belt & braces" perspective).
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,639
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
there's nothing up in the cloud system that isn't also on my hard drive under Classic management,
Jim, I have a question. If I use LRCC on a laptop and have the “store images locally” turned off and import. When I sync to the cloud, do those image remain stored locally on the laptop or is the only original maintained in the cloud and eventually synced back to LR Classic?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
"Store Originals Locally" means "store every original locally as well as in the cloud". Turning that option off will probably store "some" originals locally (e.g. new "imports" which are first copied to the "originals" location pending upload), but would expect them to be removed in due course. But not sure how long that might take, or even if they are "space managed" as per the "Target Available Disk Space Usage" slider. I've just checked and my "originals" folder has about 9gb of files in there, including the last few uploads, even though the option is disabled.

It's a good question, I'll see if I can get a more definitive answer.
 

mylesvk

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2010
Messages
16
Location
North Port Florida
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Morning Cletus ...... IMHO I'M thinking I would want the originals stored in my LR Classic. Thats where all your really serious business is done. So I would be checking that "store originals locally" even traveling. At least until we are certain of all the Whys and Where fors of the CC Cloud. In LR Classic I checked the box that allows me to specify the location ( new folder) of images from LR CC Mobile.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Morning Cletus ...... IMHO I'M thinking I would want the originals stored in my LR Classic. Thats where all your really serious business is done. So I would be checking that "store originals locally" even traveling. At least until we are certain of all the Whys and Where fors of the CC Cloud. In LR Classic I checked the box that allows me to specify the location ( new folder) of images from LR CC Mobile.

I'm not sure you're fully understanding these various options, so let me try to clarify.

The "Store Originals Locally" option is available only in the new LRCC desktop app, and those stored originals are only accessible by that LRCC app, and not accessible to LR Classic. What are available to Classic are any images "in the cloud", provided the Classic catalog is sync enabled, but those images are downloaded not into the LRCC workspace, but rather into Classic's own workspace (i.e. the existing Classic folder structure) via that Classic>Preferences>Lightroom CC tab.

So in a combined Classic and LRCC workflow situation, which Cletus is talking about, it probably makes zero sense to have that "Store Originals Locally" option enabled in LRCC when it's running on the same computer as the synced LR Classic, unless the plan is to take the computer on travels and leaving the Classic photo library back home. But even then, it's a binary on or off checkbox, if it's on a copy of all the synced files would be downloaded into the LRCC workspace, which probably isn't a great idea either. Perhaps better to leave it unchecked and work with the smart previews when travelling, knowing that if needed you could download specific individual originals.

Where that option could be useful in for those users who are going to use LRCC only, not Classic. In that situation, the prime location of all synced assets is in the cloud, so prudence might suggest keeping your own copy of them locally.
 
Joined
Jan 13, 2016
Messages
47
Location
Las Cruces, NM
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Am I wrong in having thought for years that storing "locally" is device depending? If I enable store locally on my phone this would give me the file originals on phone - unless I woud have specified on phone that I only want smart previews on phone (or ipad)?
My way of working is usually that I have smart previews on ipad and phone, and originals on external harddisks connected to desktop, all synced through Classic and LRCC. The latter only on my devices, classic only on desktop. It works for me...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top