• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

opening homepage

mikeh

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
2
Lightroom Version
lightroom classic8.41
Operating System
Windows 10
I am a total beginner. When I click on open Lightroom I get the select catalog page which is now blank. How do I open the homepage instead.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
456
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi Mike, welcome to the Forums!

When you say 'now blank' - you've used Lightroom before and have a catalog? If not, then download the free QuickStart eBook for Classic from this site (look at Content & Downloads on your Account page) and that'll help you understand. If you did open it before, then you need to tell Lightroom where the catalog is located (although it should show the list of catalogs, so did anything else happen between?)
 

mikeh

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
2
I have just upgraded to the most recent Lightroom. Previously I had the choice of two ircat catalogs now I have none. I have tried getting new catalogs without success. Is it possible to bypass this and go straight to the homepage.
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
456
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Ji

There is no home page, LR displays the catalog in Grid view (that I assume you're referring to as the Home Page)

What version did you upgrade from?

Solution is to find the catalog(s) on your system, default on Windows is My Pictures. Do a search in Explorer for lrcat (it's the file extension), that should find them. Once found, double click on the catalog and LR will open using it.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,179
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
In Lightroom, please go to the menu command Help > System Info, select Copy, and paste the first line into your reply here.

It sounds like you have been misled by Adobe into "upgrading" to the wrong Lightroom.

Maybe paste a screenshot of what you see.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,156
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I had the choice of two ircat catalogs
Please note that the extension for a Lightroom catalogue is LRCAT, not IRCAT. If you need to search for one, it helps to spell it right. :)
 
Top