• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

On LR CC start up dynamiclinkmanager crashes (Mac)

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
On start up I get a crash with the dynamiclinkmanager. It actually crashes several times according to the logs before the pop up. It does not kill LR, it keeps going but is very slow until the crashes are done and it gives the message It reports that is cannot find the temporary directory. Sorry, I am at work and can post more from the logs later, but I wanted to get this started.

Me research has shown that this could be related to the permissions issue on a Mac but I have done the recommended steps and still get it. It did start after the upgrade to the latest LR CC.

I was not sure if this was related to my memory issues in my other thread, but it occurred after I put the new memory in as well.

Latest version of LR CC, latest OSX 10.11.4
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,490
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
It could indeed be a permissions problem. If you fix the permissions of some folders, make sure you include all subfolders too. Click on the wheel icon and choose 'Apply to enclosed items'.

Lightroom.jpg
 

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It could indeed be a permissions problem. If you fix the permissions of some folders, make sure you include all subfolders too. Click on the wheel icon and choose 'Apply to enclosed items'.
Which I did. Then confirmed that the permissions "took" in the terminal.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,126
Location
Walnut Creek, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hmm. I thought it was related to the process and access to library files, not photo files (it seems to be a problem related the CC integration, not just Lr).

Are these the steps you referred to as having tried:
Dynamic Link Manager repeatedly crashes when tr... | Adobe Community
Adobe Creative Cloud Update fails due to DynamicLinkManager

Yes. Interestingly today it did not crash. I have not done anything since Wednesday when it last crashed.

Here is the detail:

Application Specific Information:
terminating with uncaught exception of type dvacore::filesupport::dir_exception: $$$/dvacore/filesupport/DirTemp=Could not find the temporary directory.
abort() called
 

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It just crashed again now. Same error.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,147
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
While we're waiting for Simon to hopefully take a look, have you tried the standard troubleshooting steps? Standard Lightroom Troubleshooting Steps

Sorry for the slow reply. Not all. It has not happened again. Rather odd, really. On the upside....my overall memory problem had been going on for a longer time than I thought. I had a problem using dual monitors so I stopped using them. I have not had any problems with dual monitors since the memory switch.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,147
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
So you're all fixed? Oh good!
 
Top