• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

November Upgrade

Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1
Lightroom Version
Latest before this upgrade
Operating System
macOS 10.13 High Sierra
As a reasonably experienced Lightroom user but only recently on the subscription based service I am slightly spooked by the recent upgrade message telling me that it's not reversible. I prefer to keep my options open but can't understand how to abort the upgrade (I haven't upgraded the catalogue) or what files I should backup to give me the option of reversing the process later. The Adobe website "How to create and manage catalogs" seems to contradict the warning message by saying that the upgrade process always keeps a copy of the old catalog - does it in this instance? Should I be nervous about upgrading or should I just get it done?! Any words of wisdom will be gratefully received.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,868
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Scary text is what they do. It just means hitting undo won’t go back. It’s the same kind of upgrade as you’ve done in previous versions, so it creates a copy of the catalog and upgrades that. Nothing to worry about here. There’s a bit more blurb in the Changes Appendix of your LR Classic book (latest download) about it, along with the other changes found in version 9
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,908
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Just to add a bit... where it becomes more trouble to reverse is if you upgrade and use it for a while, importing new photos and doing lots of changes. If you decide to go backwards the changes are sort-of lost (there are some workarounds to recover them, but not exactly straightforward).

So upgrade without fear, but exercise it and make sure you are happy before you do a lot of new work in the new version.

And do not do work in both versions at the same time -- only one will eventually "win".
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,963
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I agree with the others. Make a backup of the LR8.4.1 catalog file before you replace it with v9. Any imports and edits in V9 will need to be redone if you decide later to fall back to the 8.4.1 catalog version.
I can't speak for compatibility of V9 with High Sierra. There may be issues. There are certainly issues yet to be resolved between v9 and Catalina but V9 and Mojave seem stable.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,868
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

gYab61zH

Active Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
143
Location
Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I agree with the others. Make a backup of the LR8.4.1 catalog file before you replace it with v9. Any imports and edits in V9 will need to be redone if you decide later to fall back to the 8.4.1 catalog version.
I can't speak for compatibility of V9 with High Sierra. There may be issues. There are certainly issues yet to be resolved between v9 and Catalina but V9 and Mojave seem stable.
How can you go back to an earlier catalogue when the software won't let you (i.e. how can you go back to LR 8.4.1)?
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,109
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
how can you go back to LR 8.4.1)
You have to re-install Lightroom Classic 8.4.1 and use it to open your saved copy of the 8.4.1 catalogue.
 

gYab61zH

Active Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
143
Location
Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
You have to re-install Lightroom Classic 8.4.1 and use it to open your saved copy of the 8.4.1 catalogue.
Good to hear that that is possible. Do you mean reinstall from the cloud or from a backup?
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,109
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Probably from the cloud. Installing is usually more than just putting an executable program on disk.
 

gYab61zH

Active Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
143
Location
Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I did not know that was possible. Can someone please elaborate on how it is done?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,823
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Top