• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

nikon d700 color and exposure jpg vs raw ,issue

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi
i have always shoot canon 5d mark3 and 2

well i have taken some photos with a nikon d700 , the jpg looks great but the raw file the lacks of the colors and looks really very flat

is there a way to import raw + jpg and have both on lightroom , and have both side by side on my monitor?
in short they look better in the jpg then raw files
i have used bridge cc to compare them , but i would like to do it in lightroom

i have everything calibrated , at the beginning i was not happy about canon colors compared to canon digital professional , but after i was able to get the same beautiful color in lightroom

now i have this problem in lightroom , i know about camera calibration and the profiles


i have photoshop cc 6.7 and the last version of lightroom v5

thanks
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,246
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
In the Lightroom Preferences - General tab, check 'Treat JPEG files next to raw files as separate photos'. Then for photos already imported, go to the folder in Lightroom, right-click on it and choose 'Synchronize Folder'.
 

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
In the Lightroom Preferences - General tab, check 'Treat JPEG files next to raw files as separate photos'. Then for photos already imported, go to the folder in Lightroom, right-click on it and choose 'Synchronize Folder'.
hi
thanks
and i can i compare them ,have you found that some jpg looks better then raw file via acr?
under acr even with the standard profile or other nikon profile they look flat , lacks of contrast and colors
i'm under windows ,i have bridge photoshop and lightroom cc , are there some free tool (program) to compare side by side ?

thanks again
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,246
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
It's normal that raw files look 'flatter' than the jpegs. Raw files still need to be edited (that is why you shoot raw in the first place), jpegs have already been edited by the camera software.

You can compare them side by side in Lightroom in the library module, but not while you edit the raw file in the develop module. If you have a second monitor, you can compare them on the secondary screen in Lightroom (also while you edit the raw file). The secondary screen can also be used as a second window on your main screen, but that is a bit of a hassle.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,491
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I'll add one other this to what Johan has already said. The JPEG was shot and processed in the camera with one of the in camera Picture Controls. Adobe has to reverse engineer each of these Picture controls to mimic the appearance of the SOOC JPEG. In addition to those, LR provides their own camera profile called "Adobe Standard". This is the Default camera profile for all RAW images unless you change it at import. You can choose a camera profile in the Camera Calibration Panel to mimic the Nikon Picture Control used to create the JPEG and the NEF will come closer to matching the SOOC JPEG.
 

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I'll add one other this to what Johan has already said. The JPEG was shot and processed in the camera with one of the in camera Picture Controls. Adobe has to reverse engineer each of these Picture controls to mimic the appearance of the SOOC JPEG. In addition to those, LR provides their own camera profile called "Adobe Standard". This is the Default camera profile for all RAW images unless you change it at import. You can choose a camera profile in the Camera Calibration Panel to mimic the Nikon Picture Control used to create the JPEG and the NEF will come closer to matching the SOOC JPEG.
hi
yes i know , but with canon i had always rich raw file with adobe , maybe i guess i should edit colors in camera calibration

It's normal that raw files look 'flatter' than the jpegs. Raw files still need to be edited (that is why you shoot raw in the first place), jpegs have already been edited by the camera software.

You can compare them side by side in Lightroom in the library module, but not while you edit the raw file in the develop module. If you have a second monitor, you can compare them on the secondary screen in Lightroom (also while you edit the raw file). The secondary screen can also be used as a second window on your main screen, but that is a bit of a hassle.
thanks
i 'm going to do it right now, but just like i said i was happy after years :sleep::sleep: with canon
i guess i have to tweak nikon camera calibration better , some hours ago i did a test with a macbeth chart ,and the color are 100% perfect
thanks
 
Top