NEW BUG? Re-editing PSD via LR now erases local adjustments???

mcavotta

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
13
Location
Cleveland
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
8.2
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
For the past couple days, I’ve been experiencing some inexplicable LR behavior that led to a fruitless 3hr struggle session with Adobe Support.

I’m using LR Classic CC 8.2 + 11.2 camera raw on MacBook Pro running latest rev of Mojave. My normal workflow is to import RAW to catalog, and edit in Photoshop when necessary. Subsequent LR adjustments (crop, gradients, etc.) are made to the PSD image now residing in the catalog. Standard stuff, right?

Well, for the last few days, when I re-edit the PSD (launched via Edit original out of LR), my LR adjustments to the underlying file are getting cleared(!)

Admittedly, I lost my mind with the Adobe guy who told me this is normal behavior. Anyone else seeing this? Anyone have a solution?
 

I-See-Light

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,059
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Subsequent LR adjustments (crop, gradients, etc.) are made to the PSD image now residing in the catalog. Standard stuff, right?
Well, for the last few days, when I re-edit the PSD (launched via Edit original out of LR), my LR adjustments to the underlying file are getting cleared(!)
TBMK this is the normal behavior!
In this workflow-
  1. Edit a PSD in Photoshop and 'Save' to appear in the Lr Catalog.
  2. Do some more Development work in Lr (Crop, Gradient, etc)
  3. Send PSD back to Ps by [Edit Original] from Lr, [Save] back to Lr, and-
Those recent Lr edits are NOT added to the PSD. That is correct and 'normal'.

The method to Re-apply those last Lr edits to the PSD is to then open the History panel in the Develop module and click on the last step in History. This re-applies the Lr edits to the image that was updated in Ps.
You may not see the preview thumbnail in Lr change immediately- some have found you need to view the preview in Loupe or zoomed to force Lr to re-render the preview.
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,261
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Yes, this is normal behavior because you used ‘Edit Original’. The original is the PSD without Lightroom edits. When the image comes back in Lightroom, the Lightroom edits should still be there however. Make sure you save the file in Photoshop by hitting ‘Save’ however, not ‘Save as’. In the past, ‘Save as’ would cause the new file not to appear in the Lightroom catalog, but this behavior has changed. A new file created by ‘Save as’ will now be added to the catalog too, but obviously it will not have the Lightroom edits because it will be a new file.
 

mcavotta

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
13
Location
Cleveland
Lightroom Experience
Power User
TBMK this is the normal behavior!
In this workflow-
  1. Edit a PSD in Photoshop and 'Save' to appear in the Lr Catalog.
  2. Do some more Development work in Lr (Crop, Gradient, etc)
  3. Send PSD back to Ps by [Edit Original] from Lr, [Save] back to Lr, and-
Those recent Lr edits are NOT added to the PSD. That is correct and 'normal'.

The method to Re-apply those last Lr edits to the PSD is to then open the History panel in the Develop module and click on the last step in History. This re-applies the Lr edits to the image that was updated in Ps.
You may not see the preview thumbnail in Lr change immediately- some have found you need to view the preview in Loupe or zoomed to force Lr to re-render the preview.
Thanks. I guess I've never had to return to the history panel in order for my LR adjustments to be applied to a re-saved PSD already in my catalog. At least I know my LR work isn't lost and that it's recoverable with a single click.
 

mcavotta

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
13
Location
Cleveland
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Yes, this is normal behavior because you used ‘Edit Original’. The original is the PSD without Lightroom edits. When the image comes back in Lightroom, the Lightroom edits should still be there however. Make sure you save the file in Photoshop by hitting ‘Save’ however, not ‘Save as’. In the past, ‘Save as’ would cause the new file not to appear in the Lightroom catalog, but this behavior has changed. A new file created by ‘Save as’ will now be added to the catalog too, but obviously it will not have the Lightroom edits because it will be a new file.
Thanks Johan, but after 11+ years, I'm comfortable with how 'Edit Original' and 'Save vs Save As" are supposed to work. I'm merely saying that the way LR is behaving for me has changed. I have never had to return to the history panel to re-apply LR adjustments after re-saving a PSD that's already in my catalog. shrug
 

Jimmsp

Active Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
952
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
.......

Well, for the last few days, when I re-edit the PSD (launched via Edit original out of LR), my LR adjustments to the underlying file are getting cleared(!)

Admittedly, I lost my mind with the Adobe guy who told me this is normal behavior. Anyone else seeing this? Anyone have a solution?
I work in both LR and PS with Tiffs.
I always took them "at their word" and will (generally) send a tiff file reedited in LR back to PS via "edit with LR adjustments".
I have not had a problem with that; and there is no reason to have to visit the history panel.
I assume that still works for you.
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,261
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Thanks Johan, but after 11+ years, I'm comfortable with how 'Edit Original' and 'Save vs Save As" are supposed to work. I'm merely saying that the way LR is behaving for me has changed. I have never had to return to the history panel to re-apply LR adjustments after re-saving a PSD that's already in my catalog. shrug
And you should not. I thought you meant that you wondered why the Lightroom adjustments did not show in Photoshop. If you have to click on the history panel to re-apply the edits, then that is indeed a new bug.
 

Jimmsp

Active Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
952
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
At least in Windows, when I send a file to PS, it seems to default to the last way I sent it. And unless I pay attention I might send it as "original" instead of "with LR edits" ; or visa versa.
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,261
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
At least in Windows, when I send a file to PS, it seems to default to the last way I sent it. And unless I pay attention I might send it as "original" instead of "with LR edits" ; or visa versa.
I’m not sure what that has to do with the issue. If you use ‘Edit Original’ for a PSD image, then any Lightroom edits that were applied to that PSD image will (should) still be applied when that image comes back from Photoshop, meaning Lightroom should rerender the preview to reflect that. If that is not the case, then that is a bug.
 

mcavotta

New Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
13
Location
Cleveland
Lightroom Experience
Power User
I work in both LR and PS with Tiffs.
I always took them "at their word" and will (generally) send a tiff file reedited in LR back to PS via "edit with LR adjustments".
I have not had a problem with that; and there is no reason to have to visit the history panel.
I assume that still works for you.
This approach would (needlessly) create multiple instances of the same file and bake-in the LR adjustments. The whole point if LR is non-destructive editing on top of a base file—which should be editable without issue once the catalog link with the file is established.
 

Umberto Cocca

Active Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2017
Messages
106
Location
Stavanger, Norway
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I do not agree. How does LR gets to know if your file has been, for example, cropped or deskewed or its perspective changed by photoshop? Those local adjustments made in LR wouldn't make sense to the new tiff image, because you have changed the original image.

Sent using Tapatalk
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,261
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
I do not agree. How does LR gets to know if your file has been, for example, cropped or deskewed or its perspective changed by photoshop? Those local adjustments made in LR wouldn't make sense to the new tiff image, because you have changed the original image.
That is the consequence of using “Edit Original”. If you don’t want that to happen, then you should edit a copy with Lightroom adjustments. That’s the reason why you get that choice.
 

I-See-Light

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,059
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Most of this discussion thread has centered around preserving LAYERS in a TIF or PSD image file.

Lightroom does not understand 'layers', so if you apply Lightroom adjustments to a TIF or PSD and then 'Open in Ps with Lightroom adjustments' the result is a single layer file in Ps. Any layers (adjustment or otherwise) are flattened and 'lost'.
The only way to preserve the layers when a TIF or PSD is returning to Ps is to use one of the 'Open Original' options.
And to note that- The "Original" in this case is the TIF or PSD, and NOT not the raw camera file that may have been the source of the TIF, PSD..

If your TIF or PSD image is only a single layer, then it is not a problem to 'Open with Lightroom adjustments' as there are no layers to be lost!
 
Top