Need a 'visually convenient' keywording plugin

rkursem

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#27
Yes, this will be fixed in the next release. Keywords will be reused - even if they are at a lower level in the hierarchy.
 

rkursem

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#29
Hi again,

Just wanted to let you all know that this has been fixed in the new release (v1.20), which also allows the following preferences:
  • Placement of new keywords below a special keyword "New keywords" - this makes life a lot easier if you have keywords in a hierarchy.
  • Create new keywords as upper case - a user requested this.
  • Copy-paste field to copy list of keywords to clipboard - another user requested this.
Please visit: MyKeyworder | Find Images and Generate Keywords Instantly to download the latest version.
 

Tony Jay

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,400
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#31
Had a look at MyKeyworder.

It is not clear to me how this might work for removing keywords from images.
For lots of reasons this is an important part of workflow flexibility.

Tony Jay
 

rkursem

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#32
I sent a donation, not via the 'Donate' button but directly through the Donate menu on the website. I did not get a respons so far, so how do I tell the plugin that I donated?
Hi Johan,

Ahh - you need to donate through the plugin to have the donation linked up with your user account. I'll contact you directly on email to sort this out.
 
Last edited:

rkursem

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#33
Had a look at MyKeyworder.

It is not clear to me how this might work for removing keywords from images.
For lots of reasons this is an important part of workflow flexibility.

Tony Jay
Hi Tony,

The plugin will overwrite the existing keywords with those you choose with the plugin. For example, if you have "woods" and "woodlands" and decide to replace those by "forest" you just open the plugin and make sure the keywords you want are in the right list - these will be the final keywords. You can either add "forest" manually or probably find it through "auto identify" or by searching on "forest" which will give you "forest" and about 200 related keywords. Use the > and < to select and deselect the keywords to want to add and remove and finally click "Save keywords to photo".

Hope this answers your question.
 

Tony Jay

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,400
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#34
So, to clarify, I can see any and all keywords already assigned and can delete them at will within this plugin.
It may not have anything to do with replacing one keyword with another.

Tony Jay
 

rkursem

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2015
Messages
7
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#35
Yes, you can see the already assigned keywords and remove any of them as you like. You can also add new keywords from search, auto-identify, synonym search or manually added. Words in title and caption will also be placed in the list and you can choose which of these you can assign to the photo.
 

Tony Jay

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,400
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
#36
Yes, you can see the already assigned keywords and remove any of them as you like. You can also add new keywords from search, auto-identify, synonym search or manually added. Words in title and caption will also be placed in the list and you can choose which of these you can assign to the photo.
Thanks for the clarification.
This might make certain workflows a bit more efficient and flexible.

Tony Jay
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,068
Location
Oakland, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
#37
I'm not sure how best to use this with hierarchical keywords.

I seemed to see that if I had _Plants>flower>rose it will find rose (wish that would go to top of list since I know I wanna add that for sure) and deal with the implied keywords as expected (_Plants and flower). But what about when I don't remember that _Plants and flower are implied? I can add flower and that will list it in the keyword box in Lr but I still can't tell if it's now part of a hierarchy. If say "crane" is only in one hierarchy, say bird, that's fine, but it gets more confusing if "crane" is also a child of "construction equipment." It will imply bird, but not the equipment (not sure why it didn't at least imply both, although perhaps that's an Lr thing).

Perhaps most importantly, if say "jaguar" is a completely new to me keyword, how can I CREATE a hierarchy, like cars>jaguar? (Cars won't come up searching "jaguar").
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
6,825
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#38
You can simply create the hierarchy afterwards. Assign 'Jaguar' to some images, then in the keyword list drag & drop it onto 'cars'. The problem may be if you also shot the animal, so you already have 'cats > jaguar'.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,068
Location
Oakland, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
#39
You can simply create the hierarchy afterwards. Assign 'Jaguar' to some images, then in the keyword list drag & drop it onto 'cars'. The problem may be if you also shot the animal, so you already have 'cats > jaguar'.
True enough. But that means the plugin doesn't save me much work although the suggestions can be nice.

But I'll keep an eye on it. Content searching is the future; I've found some interesting things using that with Google but there's no automatic way to get what Google finds (or Flickr either I think) back into keywords. This gets me some similar things.