My workflow (Classic core, mobile rating), family/hobbyist

Status
Not open for further replies.

TimWatts

Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
With thanks in particular to Johan and Victoria for help in previous threads, I have a workflow, which I'd like to share (here because it spans all LR products):
(I am an amateur/hobbyist - not a pro)

Components
  1. MacBook Pro, minimal internal SSD usage, screen as you like (I went bigger);
  2. Decent 2nd screen - with good colour at least (I have a Dell 24" UltraSharp U2412M - not super, but good enough for now);
  3. Decent fast external SSD for primary photo store (I have https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF);
  4. iPad 2018 Gen 6 with 128GB SSD;
  5. Good Internet (essential for this workflow);
  6. Backup system (I use End-to-End Encrypted Cloud Storage for Businesses | Tresorit for its zero knowledge encryption system and excellent multi platform support).
You could switch many of the above to other things, eg 6 to Dropbox, 1 to Windows box, 3 to a NAS or solid internal disk. What really matters to this workflow is you basically have something for 1-6.

Import Method 1
  1. Take pictures;
  2. Import in LR Classic direct to disk (3).
Import Method 2
  1. Take pictures;
  2. Import via phone/pad LR CC to Adobe Cloud;
  3. Sync to Classic;
  4. In Classic, Move photos to SSD (3), giving the folder a sensible name (unless you told Classic to sync inbound to external SSD - I tell mine to go to internal storage first as that's guaranteed to always be there - the external drive isn't).
Method 1+2 may be used interchangeably. I tend to use 2 for phone photos and 1 for camera photos.

Culling Method
  1. Copy whole folders in Classic to a sync'd collection;
  2. Wait for sync to complete with Smart Previews to cloud;
  3. Close Classic and open LR CC on MacBook;
  4. Wait for downsync to finish; (I am a fan of not trying to confuse the Cloud with uploads and downloads happening simultaneously)