• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Moving Catalog from C:\ to D:\

Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
89
Location
Perth Western Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
10.4
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
I've Set up D drive so that Onedrive backs it up. Want to move the Lightroom Folder that is currently on C:\ to D:\ so it's included in that backup
Reading the Missing FAQ Book p 444:
Copy the Lightroom Folder and subfolders to the new location then:
Now it’s time to open the catalog, which you’ve already transferred. Double-click on the *.lrcat catalog file to open it, or hold down Ctrl (Windows) / Opt (Mac) while
launching Lightroom to show the Select Catalog dialog and navigate to the catalog.


Thats it?? Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,177
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If your image files aren't being moved as well, then yes that's pretty much all that's involved.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
412
Location
Melbourne, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Just be aware - if you copied the catalog, and your Lightroom Classic is set up so that it opens a specific catalog (path and filename), then you may be inadvertently opening your old catalog instead of the new one when you re-launch the application. Check your preferences at Preferences -> General -> Default Catalog.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,468
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It is worth noting that the catalog folder also includes the previews unless you hack something to relocate them. The previews can be VERY large if you have a lot of images.

If you can exclude that from the OneDrive backup that's great. Otherwise it will take up a lot of bandwidth as well as space on OneDrive. There's no need to back up previews, as they are automagically rebuilt if lost.

For example, if my catalog were named LR10.lrcat, then in the same folder as the file LR10.lrcat is a folder called "LR10 Previews.lrdata." That's the one that can be huge. There are also similar sync, smart previews and helper folders but those tend to be much smaller (well, smart previews depends on what you are doing with them).

In addition, LR has a backups folder that you can relocate from the GUI. You might or might not want to have that on the OneDrive backup.
 
Top