Missing thousands of photos

rclanger

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
83
Location
Suffolk. VA.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Operating System: Windows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): Classic demo

The LR Classic installation converted and created a new catalog but really messed it up.

1. From the 13000 pictures, only 6000 were converted.
2. I have removed from disk and LR about 1000 pictures. They are all in the converted catalog.

There are other problems but these are show stoppers.

Is there a solution?

Would v6 be a better choice?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
830
Location
Cheshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
As a staring point, Lightroom and its Catalogue do not contain your images, only a "pointer" to them. If you have removed them from disk, they are no longer available to Lightroom. If they are still in your Wastebasket you need to recover them from there.

Dave
 

rclanger

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
83
Location
Suffolk. VA.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yes, you are correct about the Catalog being a pointer. And I realize it. But you completely missed the most important problem.

There are 13,000 photographs in the LR 5.7 catalog. When the conversion completed for the Classic upgrade there were about 7,000. This is, in my opinion, a deal breaker.

How do I fix this? Can I try to convert again? If so, how?
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,503
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Can I try to convert again? If so, how?
Yes. Simply open the 5.7 catalogue from LR Classic. It will do the conversion again. Make sure that the 5.7 catalogue is the one you think it is. It sounds like you converted an old one.
 

rclanger

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
83
Location
Suffolk. VA.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yes. Simply open the 5.7 catalogue from LR Classic. It will do the conversion again. Make sure that the 5.7 catalogue is the one you think it is. It sounds like you converted an old one.
No, that will make sure I can't go back to version 5x if it is necessary. How about deleting the catalog-2 and starting over?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,331
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
No, that will make sure I can't go back to version 5x if it is necessary. How about deleting the catalog-2 and starting over?

You can always go back. A catalog upgrade creates a new copy. The old catalog remains untouched.
 

rclanger

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2013
Messages
83
Location
Suffolk. VA.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I was able to figure out what happened. Your comments guided me to the problem. I had 2 catalogs, one much smaller than the other. Made sure I was using the right one after renaming the initial incorrect catalog.

Thanks
 
Top