• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Missing edits , incorrect folder structure

Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
6
Lightroom Version
Classic
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hi
Can anyone explain when I download photos from cameras card into a FOLDER on an external hard drive , do I need to use the same FOLDER for completed edits , or can I make a new folder on the same hard drive for finished edits . ?
Ive had problems with photos going missing .

Thanks
David
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,083
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
You do not need anything for edits. It is a common misunderstanding that you would need to 'save' your edits somehow, for example by exporting the edited photo. You don't. Edits are stored as a 'to do list' in the catalog and they are saved constantly. You only export a photo if and when you need it for something outside of Lightroom, so for example when you want to send a jpeg to somebody or place it on your website. Then you export the photo as jpeg, place it on your website and delete the jpeg again from your computer, because you can export a new jpeg (with different settings if need be) whenever you need one.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,090
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
That's it. When you come back to that photo, all the edits will be there.
 
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
381
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Hal is absolutely correct. But, let me add to his comments. Those changes or edits you do in LR are saved instantly and automatically in the LR catalog but not in the image file itself on your hard drive. So, for example, if you import image A in LR and make a bunch of changes to it, those changes are memorized by LR so the next time you look at that image in LR you will see it with those changes. However, if you look at that image using something other than LR you will see your original, unedited, photo.

This is not a problem unless you want to share the edited image to someone or something else. For example as Hal mentioned, sending the image to someone or uploading it to some website or social media. In this case use the Export function in LR to create a temporary copy of the image (usually in a different folder such as "To Email") and send or upload that copy. Once sent or uploaded, discard the copy to conserve space and reduce confusion later.

One last point, Be sure to back up both your LR catalog (as that is where all your hard work is stored) and your original images. When you exit LR it periodically asks if you want to back up the catalog. It is good to do this. However, this does not back up the original images. The backing up of original images is up to you - outside of LR.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2019
Messages
6
Hal is absolutely correct. But, let me add to his comments. Those changes or edits you do in LR are saved instantly and automatically in the LR catalog but not in the image file itself on your hard drive. So, for example, if you import image A in LR and make a bunch of changes to it, those changes are memorized by LR so the next time you look at that image in LR you will see it with those changes. However, if you look at that image using something other than LR you will see your original, unedited, photo.

This is not a problem unless you want to share the edited image to someone or something else. For example as Hal mentioned, sending the image to someone or uploading it to some website or social media. In this case use the Export function in LR to create a temporary copy of the image (usually in a different folder such as "To Email") and send or upload that copy. Once sent or uploaded, discard the copy to conserve space and reduce confusion later.

One last point, Be sure to back up both your LR catalog (as that is where all your hard work is stored) and your original images. When you exit LR it periodically asks if you want to back up the catalog. It is good to do this. However, this does not back up the original images. The backing up of original images is up to you - outside of LR.
Good wise info , thank you Califdan . I will do this .
 
Top