metadata editing

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anti
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anti

Guest
1) METADATA EDITING

I notice that when metadata is changed, it isn't written to the image files straight away. Perhaps metadata editing is 'non-destructive', in that the changes are held in the catalog until purposely written to the file? If so, I have a couple of questions:

· How can I list all photos with metadata changes? At the moment, I can see a metadata icon on the thumbnail, but there seems to be no way to browse or select just the images that have metadata edited. In other words, there is no way to filter based on 'metadata status'.

· If it is supposed to be non-destructive, I don't see a way to undo the lightroom edits and reload the metadata from the image? When I use the 'resolve conflict' button, it seems to me that the metadata just gets saved to the image file?


2) SHORTCUTS (solved)

I'm using an english lightroom on a spanish laptop. Why? Because I live and
work in spain now, but prefer software in english because my spanish isn't
very good yet (es fatal!).

Many important keyboard shortcuts don't work.
Is there any remedy for this?
Usually Adobe products allow you to customise shortcuts.

EDIT:
OK, I've found that it can be solved with a custom TranslatedStrings.txt file.

EDIT2:
I've attached my TranslatedStrings.txt just in case anyone else needs it.
This is for Lightroom 2.4 on windows (ie. mac shortcuts are not included)
Using it means you can run the English Lightroom on a spanish computer
and/or keyboard without losing half of the shortcuts.
Copy the txt file to: program files/adobe/..lightroom../resources/en/
On starting lightroom, test it by using , in the library module.
The filter bar should open/close. This is \ by default in the english version.
 
Re: shortcuts on a spanish keyboard

My remedy since I'm a touch typist is to tell the computer it's an English keyboard and then ignore what the keycaps say.
 
Re: shortcuts on a spanish keyboard

Anti, re: Metadata editing.

Do you have Autowrite XMP enabled in Catalog Settings? If so, the XMP will eventually be written to the image files/sidecars, but it's not synchronous. There's often a time lag.

I don't think you can choose just the 'changed' images, or filter on metadata status. Depending on whether you're Autowriting or not, you can just select all the images and ctrl-S, to write the metadata. I believe only changed metadata is processed. Unchanged is ignored.

I'm not sure what you intend here. The non-destructive process applies to your original pixels, and the parametric image adjustment data. I.e. editing the 'image' is non-destructive. You can restore the original by pressing Reset in Develop.

However, editing the 'traditional' image 'metadata', e.g. keywords, IPTC stuff, etc. is not 'non-destructive'. The changes are persistent. If you don't like the result, you'll have to reverse it, by using the same editing process you use to change it. (Presuming it's already too late for the Undo button.)

If you have specific examples, we can provide more detailed info.
 
> Do you have Autowrite XMP enabled in Catalog Settings?

No I don't; thanks for the heads-up regarding that setting.
However, this setting is exactly what I don't quite understand.

With autowrite off, presumably the metadata is only written to the catalog rather than the file. Now, I could see the point in that if there was a way to UNDO these meta edits (or reload them from the images) in case of a mistake. ie. using the 'sync metadata' feature and accidentally erasing all camera info. But there doesn't appear to be a way to 'undo' these unsaved changes. So why not just write them straight to the files?

Cheers.
 
[quote author=Anti link=topic=7291.msg49693#msg49693 date=1248214643]


With autowrite off, presumably the metadata is only written to the catalog rather than the file.

[color=#''''ff]Correct[/color]

Now, I could see the point in that if there was a way to UNDO these meta edits (or reload them from the images) in case of a mistake. ie. using the 'sync metadata' feature and accidentally erasing all camera info.
[color=#''''ff]I don't think I've ever encountered this problem, can you give an example?[/color]
But there doesn't appear to be a way to 'undo' these unsaved changes. So why not just write them straight to the files?

[color=#''''ff]a) some people prefer to leave the files untouched.[/color]
[color=#''''ff]b) there are performance considerations, the continuous writing on a low bandwidth disk drive(s) can slow things down.[/color]

Cheers.
[/quote].
 
[quote author=Anti link=topic=7291.msg49693#msg49693 date=1248214643]in case of a mistake. ie. using the 'sync metadata' feature and accidentally erasing all camera info
[/quote]
Lightroom doesn't let you change any of the camera info even when you Sync Metadata. The only camera data it'll let you change is the capture date and time, and that information is stored in the database so you can revert to the original data if you want to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top