Meta data errors

Status
Not open for further replies.

acutshall

Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2007
Messages
44
Location
Oldsmar, Fl
I just installed LR 2.' and upgraded catalogs into; I am getting and error writing metadata icon. Although I have an general idea what metadata is I do not fully understand the mechanics.
I do not have automatically write changes checked in catalog preferences and do not know if I should. A dialog box pops up and states that the metadata has changed in another appication and LR and asks do I want to import or over wite settings, I am not sure what I should select.
The images are both RAW and Jpeg, can someone offer suggestions as to best practices. I have PS, Bridge and Camera RAW and just want to use a seamless type of integration without having t worry about.
Thx
 
Hello Anthony,

I suspect you're referring to the icon that indicates that the metadata in the catalog is no longer in sync with that written to the file. It's not really an error, more like a prompt to remind you. Unless you are modifying the metadata in another application (such as Bridge), it would be quite safe to select the affected thumbnails in LR and use "Save Metadata to Files" (or on the PC: cntl + S) to update the files. Your icons should disappear. If you did modify the file metadata in Bridge, you could resynchronize the folder to import those changes into LR.

Checking the preference in the catalog to automatically write changes would prevent this from happening, but may slow your system response down. Just experiment with it and see if you can work in that configuration.
 
While you're at it Anthony, upgrade to 2.1. It's solved most of the really big bugs in 2.', including some metadata weirdness.
 
thanks for both your comments; the only thing I can think that I might have used bridge/camera for is to import from flash card
 
Follow up question?

I have the same problem with my copy of LR 2.'. Now when I looked at 2.1 version, it seemed to be a full complete copy, is that correct?

Then, in regards to the LR metadata, what exactly does 'copy settings from disc' mean?

The other option is to 'overwrite the settings', with what?

Can't we see what the discrepancy is in order to make the appropriate decision?

Will all this go away if I just do the upgrade to 2.1?

Thanks!
John
 
Hi John, welcome aboard!

2.1 - yes, the download is the full program each time LR's updated.

Copy settings from disc - if you're looking in the place I think you are, it means that it will read the data from the file itself, overwriting the metadata in the LR catalog. You only usually want to do that when you've updated the file in another program like Bridge.

Overwrite the settings in the file updates the metadata in the file with the metadata from your LR catalog.

Does your LR catalog hold the up to date info - does it look correct? It probably does, in which case you want to write the metadata to the files rather than reading from the files.

Before you do it though, just check the wording to make sure it's the right way round, as I can't remember the way it's worded.
 
alright, I upgraded to 2.1. I'll assume the LR data is correct and go that way. It is not my habit to write metadata, so I don't believe anything I may have written is anything I want to keep. I feel like the metadata should be kept without too much interference from me.

Now I also read about the keywords and such from LR1.4 not importing to LR 2.' and now that I've upgraded to 2.1, do I still need to run the scripts solution that was provided for?

The entry page to running the script amused me, 'the operation is not undoable' uh, pardon me? What would that mean, or am I a bit daft today? I would assume they intend it to mean that one can not un-do the change once committed. But it certainly appears to be worded oddly.
 
Yes, run it anyway. The not undoable simply means that the undo button won't undo it. There's a few more dialogs like that too!

Edit - SNAP! :D
 
Okay, thanks, now do I go and remove the scripts file from my computer to take the item off my menu bar? Or is there more I will need it for?
 
Yep, once it's run, you can delete it again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top