• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Messy presets situation in Classic?

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
332
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
CC Classic
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hi All,

I have in my LR Classic for some reason a little messy presets situation.

some presets are located here:
Macintosh HD / Users / [your username] / Library / Application Support / Adobe / Lightroom / Develop Presets /

some are located here:
next to the catalog, inside a Lightroom Settings folder

some are here:
Macintosh HD / Users / [your username] / Library / Application Support / Adobe / CameraRaw /

and some presets I am not able to locate or find at all!


What is the reason for this mess?

Is therea way to clean this up or restructure it so that all are in the same location? Like this its quite difficult to have an overview.
I dont want to mess up or loose anything thats why I am asking how to do this?

Regards,
Tom
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
335
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Hi Tom

The ones stored next to the catalog are where at some point (perhaps now still) you ticked to store presets with the catalog. If that's ticked then it copies them to that location (and uses them for the catalog that it's ticked against)

The other two locations are correct - main one is the Develop Presets one you mention, the other (CameraRaw) are for ones that are shaed with Camera Raw. Details on these latter two and the usual location for other files are on the backup blog:

 

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
332
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Thanks for the information so its basically not possible to cellect them all in one place?

Anyway I am still "missing" some presets that are shoing up in my Classic but I cant find them in any of the above locations, when can those be?

Regards,
Tom
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2017
Messages
335
Location
UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Correct, LR organizes the way it wants to (but be sure to back them all up!)

What sort of presets are you not finding? If you open Develop, then Presets in the left hand pane, find one you can't find in the locations mentioned, then right-click one option is to show in Finder / Explorer - this should help solve the mystery!
 

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
332
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Perfect I will do that for finding them, that was very useful information.

I have some user presets that are for some reason not stored in the same locations as the others.

Regards,
Tom
 

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
332
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Hi again,

I managed now to locate and import all the presets I wanted to have in my CC apps.

I found out that some of them were simply not showing up in the apps before I checked off the checkbox for "hide partially compatible presets". What does that mean in reality that they are only partially compatible?

Regards,
Tom
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,646
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The other two locations are correct - main one is the Develop Presets one you mention, the other (CameraRaw) are for ones that are shaed with Camera Raw.
Just to clarify this one a little further, the Develop Presets folder is legacy. That contains/contained the old lrtemplate format presets, which were all converted to the new XMP format in the shared Camera Raw location around April last year. So the contents of the Develop Presets folder is just leftover cruft at this point.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,646
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I found out that some of them were simply not showing up in the apps before I checked off the checkbox for "hide partially compatible presets". What does that mean in reality that they are only partially compatible?
Presets can contain settings that only apply to raw files, like camera profiles. If you apply those presets to JPEGs, you won't get the same result, so those are considered partially compatible.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,691
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
And even when using raw files you could get a partially compatible preset warning....if for example you have a preset which applies a specific camera-matching profile and you open a raw file from a different brand of camera.
 

Tom75

Active Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2012
Messages
332
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Thanks a lot for the information, its getting clearer.

I have now also noticed that when I crossed off the partially compatible checkbox in the desktop version of LR CC on my imac then all the presets were showing but as you say only when trying to edit a RAW file so its solved now thanks again a lot

Regards,
Tom
 
Top