• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Merge to HDR oddities

Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,167
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I wonder if anyone else noticed the following 'Merge to HDR' oddities:

1. If you use 'Merge to HDR' (or 'Merge to Panorama'), Lightroom will generate XMP-files for all the source images, even if you have not checked that option in the Lightroom preferences.
2. If you use 'Auto Tone', Lightroom will set five sliders. However, only one of those sliders has anything to do with an attempt to automatically adjust the image: the 'Exposure' slider. The four other sliders, 'Highlights', 'Shadows', 'Whites' and 'Blacks' are always set to the same value (-100,+70,+15,-15). As a result, 'Auto Tone' doesn't usually give a very good result.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,811
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I knew about the XMP-generation, and I think that I probably did know the explanation, but if so I've forgotten. No doubt Victoria has a better memory than me.

Regarding the auto-tone, I assume you mean on the resulting DNG? If so, I don't see what you're seeing. I get 4 sliders moving (Exp., Contrast, Whites, Blacks), but not by a consistent amount. That's with Merge to Pano, haven't tried HDR.
 

Jimmsp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,006
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I wonder if anyone else noticed the following 'Merge to HDR' oddities:

1. If you use 'Merge to HDR' (or 'Merge to Panorama'), Lightroom will generate XMP-files for all the source images, even if you have not checked that option in the Lightroom preferences.
2. If you use 'Auto Tone', Lightroom will set five sliders. However, only one of those sliders has anything to do with an attempt to automatically adjust the image: the 'Exposure' slider. The four other sliders, 'Highlights', 'Shadows', 'Whites' and 'Blacks' are always set to the same value (-100,+70,+15,-15). As a result, 'Auto Tone' doesn't usually give a very good result.
I have not noticed the XMP files; though I admit I have never looked.

Re Autotone in HDR - Yes, I have noticed what you have said. As a result, I have stopped using it. However, I am not real happy with the way LR generates a HDR file. I'm not convinced yet that they "have the math" right. It seems like I always push the Highlights and Shadows to the extremes (near -100, +100) to get anything that looks half decent. If I have any good scenes shot for HDR, I'll always take it to Photomatix. There I can get very good realistic output and still have a lot of room in LR to fine tune the tiff.
I have told myself that I want to generate a good test scene for HDR - but I have yet to set it up and shoot it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,167
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I knew about the XMP-generation, and I think that I probably did know the explanation, but if so I've forgotten. No doubt Victoria has a better memory than me.

Regarding the auto-tone, I assume you mean on the resulting DNG? If so, I don't see what you're seeing. I get 4 sliders moving (Exp., Contrast, Whites, Blacks), but not by a consistent amount. That's with Merge to Pano, haven't tried HDR.
Merge to HDR has an Auto Tone option right in the Merge dialog. Merge to Panorama doesn't have an Auto Tone option. Of course you can use Auto Tone in the Develop module on the merged DNG (and probably get a lousy result as usual with Auto Tone), but that is not what I referred to.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,939
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I think Adobe has pulled HDR and Panorama code Components from Photoshop/Photoshop Elements (why would any one write new code?) When That code is called, ACR is also called and the Photomerge process works on the original RAW file. Foe this reason you need LR adjustments in the XMP Also the LR PhotoMerge is not as robust as the same components in PS so parameters are hard coded rather than build a user interface in LR to allow the user choices.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,167
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I have not noticed the XMP files; though I admit I have never looked.

Re Autotone in HDR - Yes, I have noticed what you have said. As a result, I have stopped using it. However, I am not real happy with the way LR generates a HDR file. I'm not convinced yet that they "have the math" right. It seems like I always push the Highlights and Shadows to the extremes (near -100, +100) to get anything that looks half decent. If I have any good scenes shot for HDR, I'll always take it to Photomatix. There I can get very good realistic output and still have a lot of room in LR to fine tune the tiff.
I have told myself that I want to generate a good test scene for HDR - but I have yet to set it up and shoot it.
It's logical that you need an extreme setting for shadows and highlights. After all, you're dealing with an HDR image, so an image with extreme contrast. The Higlights and Shadows settings themselves are not so odd (but increasing Whites and decreasing Blacks definitely is odd for an HDR file), but it's odd to claim you do an automatic correction if in reality 80% of the settings is fixed. I can get very nice results with Lightrooms HDR function, though.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,167
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I think Adobe has pulled HDR and Panorama code Components from Photoshop/Photoshop Elements (why would any one write new code?) When That code is called, ACR is also called and the Photomerge process works on the original RAW file. Foe this reason you need LR adjustments in the XMP Also the LR PhotoMerge is not as robust as the same components in PS so parameters are hard coded rather than build a user interface in LR to allow the user choices.
Yes, that may indeed be the explanation.
 
Top