• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! As well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes, Lightroom Classic has a new local Hue tool, improved ISO-specific defaults, performance improvements and more. The Lightroom cloud ecosystem also gets local Hue, as well as Versions, Activity notifications, text watermarking and the ability to upload your own Discovery tutorials. Here are the full updates about Lightroom Classic and the Lightroom cloud ecosystem.

Merge to HDR oddities

Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,990
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I wonder if anyone else noticed the following 'Merge to HDR' oddities:

1. If you use 'Merge to HDR' (or 'Merge to Panorama'), Lightroom will generate XMP-files for all the source images, even if you have not checked that option in the Lightroom preferences.
2. If you use 'Auto Tone', Lightroom will set five sliders. However, only one of those sliders has anything to do with an attempt to automatically adjust the image: the 'Exposure' slider. The four other sliders, 'Highlights', 'Shadows', 'Whites' and 'Blacks' are always set to the same value (-100,+70,+15,-15). As a result, 'Auto Tone' doesn't usually give a very good result.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,340
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I knew about the XMP-generation, and I think that I probably did know the explanation, but if so I've forgotten. No doubt Victoria has a better memory than me.

Regarding the auto-tone, I assume you mean on the resulting DNG? If so, I don't see what you're seeing. I get 4 sliders moving (Exp., Contrast, Whites, Blacks), but not by a consistent amount. That's with Merge to Pano, haven't tried HDR.
 

Jimmsp

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
1,020
Location
Green Valley, Arizona, USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I wonder if anyone else noticed the following 'Merge to HDR' oddities:

1. If you use 'Merge to HDR' (or 'Merge to Panorama'), Lightroom will generate XMP-files for all the source images, even if you have not checked that option in the Lightroom preferences.
2. If you use 'Auto Tone', Lightroom will set five sliders. However, only one of those sliders has anything to do with an attempt to automatically adjust the image: the 'Exposure' slider. The four other sliders, 'Highlights', 'Shadows', 'Whites' and 'Blacks' are always set to the same value (-100,+70,+15,-15). As a result, 'Auto Tone' doesn't usually give a very good result.
I have not noticed the XMP files; though I admit I have never looked.

Re Autotone in HDR - Yes, I have noticed what you have said. As a result, I have stopped using it. However, I am not real happy with the way LR generates a HDR file. I'm not convinced yet that they "have the math" right. It seems like I always push the Highlights and Shadows to the extremes (near -100, +100) to get anything that looks half decent. If I have any good scenes shot for HDR, I'll always take it to Photomatix. There I can get very good realistic output and still have a lot of room in LR to fine tune the tiff.
I have told myself that I want to generate a good test scene for HDR - but I have yet to set it up and shoot it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,990
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I knew about the XMP-generation, and I think that I probably did know the explanation, but if so I've forgotten. No doubt Victoria has a better memory than me.

Regarding the auto-tone, I assume you mean on the resulting DNG? If so, I don't see what you're seeing. I get 4 sliders moving (Exp., Contrast, Whites, Blacks), but not by a consistent amount. That's with Merge to Pano, haven't tried HDR.
Merge to HDR has an Auto Tone option right in the Merge dialog. Merge to Panorama doesn't have an Auto Tone option. Of course you can use Auto Tone in the Develop module on the merged DNG (and probably get a lousy result as usual with Auto Tone), but that is not what I referred to.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,050
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
I think Adobe has pulled HDR and Panorama code Components from Photoshop/Photoshop Elements (why would any one write new code?) When That code is called, ACR is also called and the Photomerge process works on the original RAW file. Foe this reason you need LR adjustments in the XMP Also the LR PhotoMerge is not as robust as the same components in PS so parameters are hard coded rather than build a user interface in LR to allow the user choices.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,990
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I have not noticed the XMP files; though I admit I have never looked.

Re Autotone in HDR - Yes, I have noticed what you have said. As a result, I have stopped using it. However, I am not real happy with the way LR generates a HDR file. I'm not convinced yet that they "have the math" right. It seems like I always push the Highlights and Shadows to the extremes (near -100, +100) to get anything that looks half decent. If I have any good scenes shot for HDR, I'll always take it to Photomatix. There I can get very good realistic output and still have a lot of room in LR to fine tune the tiff.
I have told myself that I want to generate a good test scene for HDR - but I have yet to set it up and shoot it.
It's logical that you need an extreme setting for shadows and highlights. After all, you're dealing with an HDR image, so an image with extreme contrast. The Higlights and Shadows settings themselves are not so odd (but increasing Whites and decreasing Blacks definitely is odd for an HDR file), but it's odd to claim you do an automatic correction if in reality 80% of the settings is fixed. I can get very nice results with Lightrooms HDR function, though.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,990
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I think Adobe has pulled HDR and Panorama code Components from Photoshop/Photoshop Elements (why would any one write new code?) When That code is called, ACR is also called and the Photomerge process works on the original RAW file. Foe this reason you need LR adjustments in the XMP Also the LR PhotoMerge is not as robust as the same components in PS so parameters are hard coded rather than build a user interface in LR to allow the user choices.
Yes, that may indeed be the explanation.
 
Top