• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Map Module Not Working (or there's a problem with the GPS coordinates)

Laurence Heine

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
19
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic CC V8.1
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
I'm using Lightroom Classic CC V8.1 on MAC os 10.14 Majove with an active subscription. I have just imported several hundred images that have been geotagged but they do not show a position in the map module. In the Metadata Panel, the GPS field is blank.

If I examine a sample image with Picassa, it shows these GPS Values:
GPS Latitude: 34 2' 18.7" N​
GPS Longitude: 116 11' 36.3" W​
GPS Altitude: 1200.28​

If I examine the sample image with an Exif editor, it shows these GPS values:
GPS Latitude: 34.038539​
GPS Latitude Ref: North​
GPS Longitude: 116.193414​
GPS Longitude Ref: West​
GPS Altitude: 1200.275879​
GPS Altitude Ref: Above Sea Level​

By my calculations, these GPS positions correspond exactly.

Can anyone suggest what is happening with Lightroom?

Thanks!
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,472
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Do you apply a metadata preset during import? If so, check to make sure the GPS, Altitude and Direction fields (in the Camera Info section) are NOT checked.
 

Laurence Heine

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
19
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Thanks, Jim!

My bad. I realized that the geotagging was performed AFTER some of the images were imported, which explains why the GPS data is not present. I guess I have to manually add it as I can't reimport without losing the develop settings.
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,472
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
You could simply do Metadata menu>Read Metadata from File, but that also will wipe the develop settings. If you know where the image was shot, using the Map module to geotag the images would be the best bet, I guess.
 

Laurence Heine

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2017
Messages
19
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Thanks again, Jim,
I'll have to manually copy the GPS location from the Exif data, as I spent all day yesterday editing several hundred images. I forgot that at Import, Lightroom copies the photo and Exif data rather than reading it live. Hopefully, in the future I'll remember to geotag the images before I import them.
 
Top