• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Map module & Location

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 8.3.1
Operating System
Windows 10
Has the map module changed how it works.

I've just manually added locations for a batch of photos, entering Sandylands as the location. I then placed 36 of these images on the map module by dragging them and placing them where they were shot.

On returning to the Library view with the location filter on , I spotted that the location for these 36 photos had been changed in the filter to Saltcoats, but the Metadata panel still showed the manually entered value of Saandylands.

lrq.jpg


In fact, all 36 images now appear as Saltcoats in the filter, but Sandylands in the metadata panel.

The location is in fact doubtful, as there is a border between these towns very close by, but why is the Map module overwriting the manually entered value, and why is it not appearing in the metadata panel?

I did expand the metadata panel to show "all possible items" and I did not spot Saltcoats as appearing anywhere.

Incidentally, if I drag the images to a slightly different spot on the map, they revert to Sandylands.


Colin
 
Last edited:

SaraLH

Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2019
Messages
28
Location
Germany
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Hi Colin,
it sounds like you have the "Address Lookup" checked in the metadata panel of the catalog settings. If you uncheck this LR will stop writing location information for you. I have it unchecked because I use Jeffrey Friedl's Geolocation plugin.
1560427270036.png
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
HI Sarah,

You are right. I have checked and that setting is set. I'm away to play with this and see if that resolves the problem.

I'll also have a look at that plug in. I have a couple of his, but not that one

Thanks for your input.

Colin
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Sarah

Unfortunately, that setting makes no difference.

Colin
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
The problem seems even stranger.

I start with a different folder. There are 106 images in this folder. Each has no GPS data, each has sublocation set to "Beach", and City to "Ardrossan".

lrq 2.jpg

I then manually drag 25 images (all at once) on the map module to 1 location, and 81 (again all at once) to another nearby location.

lrq 3.jpg

On returning to the library module my filter panel

lrq 4.jpg


Now has 20 at one location, 15 at another, and 71 as unknown. No relation to the 25/81 split on the map. All Sublocations on the metadata panel still show "Beach".

Colin
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Has no-one got any thoughts on this question?

Hoping
 
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
306
Lightroom Experience
Power User
1) How do they show up on the map? clumps of 20/15 or 25/81? In other words, are the correct GPS coordinates applied to the images (25 have one set of GPS coordinates and 81 have a different set)?

2) When you dragged the images onto the map did you type anything into any of the "location" fields in the right panel of the map module?

3) After dragging the images to the map, before leaving the map module and with them still selected, did any data pop up on its own in the location fields?
If Yes, then you have address lookup turned on.
If No, then what did you do in LR between the time you left the map module and noticed the weird location data?
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I'll have a look over the weekend and truy to repeat, Can maybe go back to an earlier back up as well

Colin
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,037
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Isn't it because there's a quirk - when you return from Map, the filter is released.
 

ColMac9090

Active Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
166
Location
Edinburgh, Scotland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
John I'll need to look at that, thanks
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,037
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Try displaying the filmstrip before you exit Map. I think you'll see what I mean. It's not right, just how it is.
 
Top