LRC window doesn't open to full screen when starting.

Joined
May 3, 2020
Messages
1
Lightroom Version
10.2
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
Hello, I'm new to the forum. I performed a search for my question, but couldn't find a solution.

When I open LRC the program doesn't open in full screen. Sometimes it will, but most of the time it's not full screen but maybe half the size as full screen. I can maximize the window to bring it into full screen, but it's just frustrating that it does this. It's been doing this since maybe late last summer, but I just dealt with it. Recently I had to format and re-install Windows 10, I sort of thought the issue would go away with a clean install, but the problem persists.

Many thanks for any advice or help correcting this issue.
Chris
 

stevedo

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
32
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hello, I'm new to the forum. I performed a search for my question, but couldn't find a solution.

When I open LRC the program doesn't open in full screen. Sometimes it will, but most of the time it's not full screen but maybe half the size as full screen. I can maximize the window to bring it into full screen, but it's just frustrating that it does this. It's been doing this since maybe late last summer, but I just dealt with it. Recently I had to format and re-install Windows 10, I sort of thought the issue would go away with a clean install, but the problem persists.

Many thanks for any advice or help correcting this issue.
Chris

Mine's the same (Windows 10 and LrC 10.2), I just live with it.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,413
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Mine's the same (Windows 10 and LrC 10.2), I just live with it.
Me, too. It's obviously a bug.
If it bothers you, there's a link at the top of the forum page: "Bug report/Feature request"
 

BobT

Active Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
205
Location
Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Mine opens full-screen 98% of the time (also Windows 10 and LR Classic 10.2). Just once in a while it opens in a small window, for some unknown reason.
Me too!
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
951
Location
Republic of Trinidad & Tobago
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Just a few thoughts. As far as I am aware LrC reboots to where you were when you Quit the application or shut down.
So if you wish LrC to consistently open in full-screen mode, then you need to be consistent and quit while you are in full-screen mode.
When LrC boots it will open a Catalog file.
If you boot LrC by using the option of double click the Catalog file it should return you to where you were when you quit that session.
Screenshot 2021-03-27 at 5.55.50 AM.png
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,413
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
As far as I am aware LrC reboots to where you were when you Quit the application or shut down.
Yes, it is supposed to. For me and a bunch of other people, it doesn't always do that. I never am out of full-screen mode when I close LRC, but it occasionally comes up in a window.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
951
Location
Republic of Trinidad & Tobago
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
811
Location
Palo Alto, CA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
I haven't done any controlled testing but this may (or may not) be involved. It seems that when I launch LrC (10.0) using an LrC desktop Icon (Windows/10), if I just let LrC launch it opens to the same size it was when I last used it. However, as I have my catalog on an external portable hard drive (spinning disk, not particularly fast), and my catalog is over 3gb it takes a minute or so for LrC to launch. If I hot key over to some other app like Outlook or a Web browser window (none of which I have sized at "max") while LrC is loading itself then LrC seems to open in a smallish window. it would be interesting to see if anyone else sees this possible correlation.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,394
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I haven't done any controlled testing but this may (or may not) be involved. It seems that when I launch LrC (10.0) using an LrC desktop Icon (Windows/10), if I just let LrC launch it opens to the same size it was when I last used it. However, as I have my catalog on an external portable hard drive (spinning disk, not particularly fast), and my catalog is over 3gb it takes a minute or so for LrC to launch. If I hot key over to some other app like Outlook or a Web browser window (none of which I have sized at "max") while LrC is loading itself then LrC seems to open in a smallish window. it would be interesting to see if anyone else sees this possible correlation.
I know this is an open question, but since it's easy enough to maximize the LrC window, why not just do that? LR has lots of other unexplained behavior. (Not directed at anyone in particular.)
 

stevedo

Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
32
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I know this is an open question, but since it's easy enough to maximize the LrC window, why not just do that? LR has lots of other unexplained behavior. (Not directed at anyone in particular.)

I agree with you. I replied that mine is the same to indicate that the OP was not alone. The only person to indicate that this is an issue for them is the OP who stated that "but it's just frustrating that it does this".

Hal P Anderson suggested that the OP report a bug if it was a problem for him. I wonder if he did that?
 
Top