LRC Plus

jon515

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
24
Lightroom Version
10.1.1
Operating System
  1. macOS 11.0 Big Sur
Do others use other apps for specific features besides LR and PS? I have a few I use but don't have a great workflow. Currently I export from LRC, use other app then import into a different folder.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,339
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I use FastStone Image Viewer and Fast Raw Viewer for culling images, and FastStone also has a great cropping feature that I can use to check images to see if they have enough PPI before sending the file out to print. I also use a renaming/backup program prior to importing my files into LRC. I used to use ImageIngester Pro and I now use Downloader Pro.

--Ken
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,501
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Do others use other apps for specific features besides LR and PS? I have a few I use but don't have a great workflow. Currently I export from LRC, use other app then import into a different folder.

I use Topaz, On1PhotoRAW as well as Photoshop and have them set up as External Editors . They work just like Photoshop does as an external Editor


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,501
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Do you know if there is a way to set Affinity photo and or Pixelmator as external editors?
External Editors presets are created in Preferences {External Editor} tab in the Additional External Edited section. Name your External Editor Preset in the Preset field and click {Choose} to select the application execuatble.
The list of presets will appear in the {Photo}{Edit in} menu. Remember to save your preset as a new preset. in the Preset dropdown list box.


1612187259279.png
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,501
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I use Topaz Denoise and Sharpening but access them through their LR plug-ins. I keep all photos in the same directory and catalog.
Many third party tools will create their own External Editor presets During install.
 

jon515

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2020
Messages
24
External Editors presets are created in Preferences {External Editor} tab in the Additional External Edited section. Name your External Editor Preset in the Preset field and click {Choose} to select the application execuatble.
The list of presets will appear in the {Photo}{Edit in} menu. Remember to save your preset as a new preset. in the Preset dropdown list box.


View attachment 16004
Thank you, I see where to pick the external but not how to save multiple options, where do I save the preset?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
17,501
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thank you, I see where to pick the external but not how to save multiple options, where do I save the preset?

Just type a new Preset name in the box, link it to a new executable and save it as a new Preset


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,718
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I shoot with Canon. I always pre-cull using Canon's DPP before importing to LrC. I do that right off the card and delete unwanted or unusable files. DPP's downsizing algorithm for 'fit to screen' display is very good - contrasty which creates the illusion of sharpness. Plus it is free.

With LrC's new Adaptive ISO presets Texture, Clarity, Dehaze, Sharpening, Detail, Masking and NR auto apply at import based on each files ISO. Lens Corrections and CA also auto apply at import.

Currently I only use Topaz Denoise AI - if necessary. While Topaz suggest to turn Sharpening and NR to zero I reduce those by 50% for each specific ISO. I find that applying some Sharpening and NR makes Topaz work less harder minimizing occasional odd artifacts with noisier files. I reduce Sharpening, Detail and NR, I don't reduce Masking because I think it makes a difference. I have a presets for the ISO ranges to speed things up.

I also have Topaz Sharpen AI but rarely use it. I got it for the Stabilize feature and use it if I really need that file. For my hobby shooting if I didn't get it sharp I don't use it.

That being said I hope Adobe comes out with NR Sensei one day so I can stop using 3rd party NR products for those tougher jobs.
 
Top