• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

LRC, My Personal Catalog v10, deleting old smart previews files

Lamplady

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2020
Messages
2
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version 10
Operating System
macOS 11.0 Big Sur
I am cleaning out files on my Mac to increase storage space, and I have two large files related to Light Room Classic My Personal Catalog. I am inclined to delete the first one (Smart Previews from 2013), but I would like advice before I make a mistake and delete something I shouldn't. The two files are:
My Personal Catalog 2-2-2-2-v10 Smart Preview.lrdata, last accessed 7/29/13, file size 22.61 GB
My Personal Catalog 2-2-2-2-v10 Previews.lrdata, last accessed 11/17/20, file size 13.5 GB
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,401
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
In principle you can safely delete smart previews. Lightroom can rebuild them when you decide you want them after all. The question is why you created them in the first place. Did you have a reason to create them? Did that reason change?
 

Lamplady

New Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2020
Messages
2
Thank you Johan. My reason for creating the smart previews in 2013 was that I was traveling for nearly a month and wanted to work on my photos. I still occasionally create them, but not often since I don't travel afar any more. What prompted my question was that I wondered why the 2013 previews seemed to have gotten updated to Version 10, which was the most recent update.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,327
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
What prompted my question was that I wondered why the 2013 previews seemed to have gotten updated to Version 10, which was the most recent update.
When you upgrade your catalogue, all the preview caches get their name changed to match the new catalogue name. Perfectly normal.
 
Top