• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

LR6 installed but problematic

viarmois

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
39
Location
france
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Lightroom Version
LR6.1.4 hopefully permanent
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
Bonjour,
My original post : LR6 installer missing, apparently gave the impression that the problem was abandoned ( "W7 come back !)
  • Not so and I remain in the dark as to the meaning & solving of the error messages.
I reiterate:
Having updated the computer to be compatible with W10 & 11, I re-installed LR6 ( using the advice received here ) then opened LR6 directly
from C:/ ...and clipped the icon on the 'barre des taches' base line.

This icon then found and opened a catalogue from the saved bup located on the ext HD J:/ ... ok the first time
Then came the problems:
If I closed & tried to re-open LR6 from the J:/ back up , I received the message:
  • "" the LR cat is too recent.to open. with the current version of LR..."
  • ---- what does this mean, given that I had just opened & closed it ?
So, I created a new catalogue LR6 2021... fine.
  • I saved it on closure, but when attempting to re-open it from the C: location, it came up with the same message ( see att.file )
As I said in the original post, if I have a functioning LR cat. icon, I have no idea as to where the functioning file really hides and so cannot save it on the J: / ext disk.
As to the meaning of the errors ???

Again, in anticipation, Thank you for your help
 

viarmois

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
39
Location
france
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Bonjour,
My original post : LR6 installer missing, apparently gave the impression that the problem was abandoned ( "W7 come back !)
  • Not so and I remain in the dark as to the meaning & solving of the error messages.
I reiterate:
Having updated the computer to be compatible with W10 & 11, I re-installed LR6 ( using the advice received here ) then opened LR6 directly
from C:/ ...and clipped the icon on the 'barre des taches' base line.

This icon then found and opened a catalogue from the saved bup located on the ext HD J:/ ... ok the first time
Then came the problems:
If I closed & tried to re-open LR6 from the J:/ back up , I received the message:
  • "" the LR cat is too recent.to open. with the current version of LR..."
  • ---- what does this mean, given that I had just opened & closed it ?
So, I created a new catalogue LR6 2021... fine.
  • I saved it on closure, but when attempting to re-open it from the C: location, it came up with the same message ( see att.file )
As I said in the original post, if I have a functioning LR cat. icon, I have no idea as to where the functioning file really hides and so cannot save it on the J: / ext disk.
As to the meaning of the errors ???

Again, in anticipation, Thank you for your help
missing file
 

Attachments

  • pb catlr en C.png
    pb catlr en C.png
    74 KB · Views: 11
  • pb catal lr6 & bup.jpg
    pb catal lr6 & bup.jpg
    121.2 KB · Views: 8
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
You wrote
This icon then found and opened a catalogue from the saved bup located on the ext HD J:/ ... ok the first time
Did you repeat this (using icon) - or did you click on the catalogue?
I have a vague memory of this error in the past (> 2 years) after installation of LR6. As soon as I opened the catalogue with the LR6 program it worked OK.
Stig
 

viarmois

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
39
Location
france
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Morning, & thank you for the reply.

I have repeated my (failed) tries to open the LTcat from...the J: ext HD & from the C: new catalog 2021 dossier

both gave the same odd message ( att files )

The catalogue only opens, correctly, by clicking on the bottom tool bar LR icon, which is linked to the 'new catalog LR6 to be seen in the File - current cat file list ( my translation from the french.. )

As said, the probleme is that, if I can register a new back up, which appears in the C:LR dossier ( af ), it again gives the same odd message.

I therefore have no way to recover my catalogue if needed...
 

Attachments

  • from J lrcat file.jpg
    from J lrcat file.jpg
    139.5 KB · Views: 6
  • same pb with C cat file.jpg
    same pb with C cat file.jpg
    116.5 KB · Views: 7
  • c bup fails.jpg
    c bup fails.jpg
    115.5 KB · Views: 7
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
You can chose to open any catalogue you want by changing the catalogue settings.
Do you have an old LR (LR5..) installed? The file association might be to the old LR and not LR6. That would cause this error. The LR6 installation should however have changed the file association so LR6 opens a .lrcat file
Stig
 
Last edited:

viarmois

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
39
Location
france
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
You can chose to open any catalogue you want by changing the catalogue settings.
Do you have an old LR (LR5..) installed? The file association might be to the old LR and not LR6. That would cause this error. The LR6 installation should however have changed the file association so LR6 opens a .lrcat file
Stig
Evening,
In lr6, the file folder shows the 3 catalogues I initially opened successfully.

The C: adobe/ new lightroom lr6 catal.lrcat
The J: ext hd , lr6. lrcat.
The K: ext hd, lr6 .lrcat

These same files failed to reopen, as explained.

I have, as a safety measure, a complete LR5 dossier on the K: ext hd.
As I keep these ext.hd unconnected, they should not influence lr6 in it's search of a catalogue.
Which leaves me still at sea as to where the functionning 'new lr6 catal 2021' is.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
If you look in the Settings - standardapps and find the app that opens .lrcat it should look like this (unfortunately in Danish)
2021-11-17_201040.gif

except that it should show Lightroom 6 (instead of Lightroom Classic)
Does it show Lightroom 6?
Stig
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Another option is right-clicking a catalogue - select 'Open with' and choose the lightroom.exe file (in the LR6 folder -not LR5). If you still have LR5 the program is also named lightroom.exe but in a LR5 folder.
Stig
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
If you look in the Settings - standardapps and find the app that opens .lrcat it should look like this (unfortunately in Danish)
View attachment 17525
except that it should show Lightroom 6 (instead of Lightroom Classic)
Does it show Lightroom 6?
Stig
After some reflection the program may appear as lightroom.exe which is a problem as lightroom.exe can be both LR5 (if installed) and LR6
A last remedy could be running LR6 in compatibility mode (e.g. Win 7)
Stig
 
Last edited:

viarmois

Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2011
Messages
39
Location
france
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Bravo,
Effectively, LR5 & LR6 married & gave one, false, reply.
I cancelled all LR5 files on the 3 HD ( C:,K:,J: ), all LR6 back ups prior to the new installation, & bingo as they say, LR6 found the correct catalogue on all 3 HD.
I thus have my safety valves handy.
Thanks for your perseverance.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2017
Messages
39
Location
Denmark
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Bravo,
Effectively, LR5 & LR6 married & gave one, false, reply.
I cancelled all LR5 files on the 3 HD ( C:,K:,J: ), all LR6 back ups prior to the new installation, & bingo as they say, LR6 found the correct catalogue on all 3 HD.
I thus have my safety valves handy.
Thanks for your perseverance.
I'm happy to be able to help.
Passe une bonne soirée
Stig
 
Top