• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! As well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes, Lightroom Classic has a new local Hue tool, improved ISO-specific defaults, performance improvements and more. The Lightroom cloud ecosystem also gets local Hue, as well as Versions, Activity notifications, text watermarking and the ability to upload your own Discovery tutorials. Here are the full updates about Lightroom Classic and the Lightroom cloud ecosystem.

LR6.14 spinning ball on exit, then crashes, on MacOs 10.15.1

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Versione Lightroom: 6.14 [ 1149743 ]
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
Hi,
I've just upgraded to MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 since all my apps were 64-bit and I knew that even my LR 6.14 is working fine with MacOS Catalina,
the only think which won't work is LR 6.14 installer, which is 32-bit.
Just after the update, I've launched Lightroom, it works fine, I can see everything and change my photos as usual, but as soon as I click on quit, the spinning ball appears and LR gets stuck on exit. If I leave it with the spinning ball after some seconds it crashes. It happens every time.
Did you experience the same issue? Did you find a solution or have any suggestion about what I could try?

Thank you in advance for any help.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I haven't seen other reports, but might it be getting stuck trying to back up to a specific folder?
 

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I haven't seen other reports, but might it be getting stuck trying to back up to a specific folder?
Any idea about what I could try to enable/disable maybe in LR options to avoid the shutdown crash?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,042
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
It gets stuck before showing me the prompt that usually asked me to back up the catalog before exiting.. BTW it did not ask me for a permission to work within my document folder as other MacOS apps did..
Lightroom Catalog file and other work data is usually stored as default in the Pictures folder. Probably not the same as the Documents folder wrt OS permissions
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
It's a long shot, but go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy tab > Files and Folders and make sure that Lightroom has permission to access the various drives and folders
 

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It's a long shot, but go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy tab > Files and Folders and make sure that Lightroom has permission to access the various drives and folders
It has access to Documents folder.. I've tried to add a specific permission to LR to give him all access to the whole disk but nothing changed. The spinning ball appears as soon as I press cmd+Q, before showing the quit window where it usually asked to perform catalog backup. :-/
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
LR6 is a bit of an unknown quantity on Catalina. It's had the smallest bit of testing to see if it opens, but a lot changed in Catalina so a bug wouldn't surprise me. You could try the standard troubleshooting steps to rule out the most likely suspects: Standard Lightroom Classic Troubleshooting Steps
 

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
LR6 is a bit of an unknown quantity on Catalina. It's had the smallest bit of testing to see if it opens, but a lot changed in Catalina so a bug wouldn't surprise me. You could try the standard troubleshooting steps to rule out the most likely suspects: Standard Lightroom Classic Troubleshooting Steps
Hi, I've tried presets & prefs troubleshooting as suggested but nothing changed.. I think I can't re-install the app since LR 6.14 is 64-bit but its installer isn't, right? I've always upgraded LR every two years when it was a perpetual-license app, now it is quite difficult for me to justify 140€/year for the subscription since I'm not a professional photographer.. BTW, If I'll every buy the subscription, is the migration from LR6.14 to the actual release pain free?
 

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I've just tried to disable and remove all external plug-ins that I'm not using anymore and then I've de-registered the corresponding services. Then I've pressed cmd-Q and LR exited without crashing! I've thought I've solved the problem, re-opened it, cmd-Q, crash again :-/
 

Slaytanic

Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
31
Location
Trento, Italy
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
LR6 is a bit of an unknown quantity on Catalina. It's had the smallest bit of testing to see if it opens, but a lot changed in Catalina so a bug wouldn't surprise me. You could try the standard troubleshooting steps to rule out the most likely suspects: Standard Lightroom Classic Troubleshooting Steps
I've finally bought the 1-year subscription since there was a small discount today (120 €/year).. Everything seems to work, some problems with reverse-geocoding (400 photos I've imported on LR6.14 did not have reverse geocoding, since LR6.14 could not work with google maps anymore, and I didn't know how to re-trigger it.. so I had to do a re-import of those photos..can I trigger it without a re-import?). I'll see if I use it to justify the expense..
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,339
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If the images have GPS co-ordinates assigned, then reverse-geocoding should be automatic....provided it's enabled in the Catalog Settings>Metadata tab, and it's not been paused in the Activity Panel.
 

Glight

New Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2020
Messages
1
Same problem here: After upgrading to Catalina, Lightroom 6.14 shows spinning ball on exit, then crashes. Has anyone found a solution?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,042
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Same problem here: After upgrading to Catalina, Lightroom 6.14 shows spinning ball on exit, then crashes. Has anyone found a solution?
LR6.14 and Catalina are untested wrt stability. All bets are off with an update OS and a Legacy app like 6.14


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

LexS

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2019
Messages
60
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
It looks as if the connection with Adobe internet is blocked or something like that:
why don't you give LTR Full Disk Access and also Accessibility access in SecurityAndPrivacy folder in SystemPreferences ?
 

herburger

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2020
Messages
1
I was able to fix this by installing the Creative Cloud desktop app in Catalina.

For anyone searching, it would also keep working if you updated the AAM (Adobe Application Manager) to the Creative Cloud App prior to upgrading to Catalina (but seems to work just fine if you miss this step, and need to install it after upgrading).

Enjoy!
 
Top