• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

LR won't load on my new Imac

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I own the disc for LR, and have faithfully upgraded whenever upgrades were available, so when my Mac Pro died, I got out the disc and went through the loading process, and got the program on the machine and the dock, but for some reason the Imac won't access it.

What am I doing wrong here??
 

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Adobe released LR6.8 to be compatible with MacOS (Sierra) I think you would be better off sending the LR6.0 app to the trash and starting over with a fresh install of LR6.10 from this Link: Download
Thanks Cletus, I did that but I get a message telling me You do't have permission to download this over this server etc. Is there some way to get permission??
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,638
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thanks Cletus, I did that but I get a message telling me You do't have permission to download this over this server etc. Is there some way to get permission??
Strange message. I just click on the word "Download" in my/your reply and the file downloads. I just downloaded the dmg file 4 times to my Downloads folder. Are you operating your Mac as an administrator? You should be.
 

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Yep, as administrator, I will have another go at it.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,670
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Just on the off chance that it's the Adobe website throwing that error, try signing into your Adobe account.
 

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,670
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I signed in and still get the no access message- I will call Adobe
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,670
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Ok, just don't let them talk you into signing up for a sub if you don't want to, because we'll get you the right file one way or another!
 

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
thanks Victoria- they told me I had to go on their chat service and I am trying to navigate it now. I will let you know what kind of luck I have.
 

herb

Active Member
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
133
Location
Raleigh NC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Ok, finally- Adobe won't talk to you about stand alones, you have to go the the chat room. After some time, I managed to:
get my purchase history; copy down the pertinent serial numbers; figure out which LR I have the disc for - the folder doesn't say- turns out it is version #1, and hola! I got the damn thing loaded and functional. Thanks to both of ye for the support.
I try and brave Photoshop, but the version I have the disc for is CS2, so maybe out of luck there.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,670
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Yeah, I somehow doubt CS2 will even run, sorry!
 
Top