LR Tethering for Sony Cameras - Added Soon?

Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
28
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#1
LR currently doesn't support tethering for Sony cameras. I wonder if anyone knows if this support may be added in the next release or update. Sony has some very nice cameras now (I love my A7RII) and I expect there are an increasing number of LR users with Sony cameras who could use this feature. Any hope that this will be added soon?

David
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
87
Location
Sevierville, TN - USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#2
LR currently doesn't support tethering for Sony cameras. I wonder if anyone knows if this support may be added in the next release or update. Sony has some very nice cameras now (I love my A7RII) and I expect there are an increasing number of LR users with Sony cameras who could use this feature. Any hope that this will be added soon?

David
Do a Google search on "LR Tethering for Sony Cameras", there are several sites that will help you.
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
13,599
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
FWIW, the three camera Mfgs that do have tethering for LR are supported because the Camera Mfg has released a software development kit that indicates an API to be used for interfacing directly with the camera. Adobe needs this information to develop the plugin to work with your camera.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
28
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#4
Do a Google search on "LR Tethering for Sony Cameras", there are several sites that will help you.
I know about the monitored folder approach. That is not what I want - I want to be able to "live view" the image on my MacBook Pro 15 Retina display - and adjust from there. I have the Sony app for adjusting the camera settings - but I want to see the image before taking the shot.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
28
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
#5
FWIW, the three camera Mfgs that do have tethering for LR are supported because the Camera Mfg has released a software development kit that indicates an API to be used for interfacing directly with the camera. Adobe needs this information to develop the plugin to work with your camera.
Capture 1 Pro says that it supports tethering for Sony cameras. I have the software (V10) and it doesn't appear to work. I have a support request in but no response yet. I like the features of Capture 1 Pro better than LR (and there is a Sony-only version for $50 which is a real bargain), but there appear to be some performance issues and bugs in the newest version. I have been looking at LR alternatives because I don't like the "rent the software" approach Adobe has taken. Capture 1 Pro is a great alternative - if it worked! (The Capture 1 developers claim they have access to the appropriate SDK software from Sony which they use in their implementation.)

David