• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

LR mobile camera - auto sync pictures to LR classic?

Gavin Lipscombe

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
21
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Classic 10.2 , Mobile 6.2.1
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
  2. Android
So I've discovered the benefit of using LR mobile camera (mainly they are saved to RAW), thanks to @Victoria Bampton .
I've never used LR mobile before, always using classic on the desktop, mainly because pretty much all my photography is done on a DSLR. Now with the RAW ability of LR mobile I am wanting to add photos taken on the phone with LR camera to my Classic catalogue.
I've set LR mobile to sync photos taken on LR camera in my LR cloud storage.
What I want to do is have the cloud import these images to LR classic catalogue so I have the RAW files available on the computer.
I've searched and searched but can't seem to find how to do it.

Is it possible?

Thanks
Gavin
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,613
Location
Queensland
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic

Step#1 Turn Sync 'on'
2021-05-28 06_40_49-How to sync Lightroom Classic photos with Lightroom — Mozilla Firefox.jpg

Step#2 Set preferences for the folder location of photos that download from the Cloud
2021-05-28 06_41_58-How to sync Lightroom Classic photos with Lightroom — Mozilla Firefox.jpg
 

Gavin Lipscombe

New Member
Joined
Aug 18, 2017
Messages
21
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Well I had already set all that but I went through it again and created a new folder and it all started working. There was one image in the queue on the preferences screen that was just showing as downloading, even after restarts of LR and reboots of the computer. So I'm wondering if that stuck image was stopping everything else from syncing and creating the new download location freed everything up.

Thanks for the replies.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2021
Messages
50
I also have a question on this issue, which I'd be grateful if someone more knowledgeable than me could clarify, please:

- I like and use the LR camera app and really value the way it puts my dng smartphone images, if taken with the app, into the LRC folder I have specified for it, automatically. This upload/download process happens as soon as I've got my phone back onto wifi and LRC is open on my desktop.

- I find, though, that sometime later (maybe a day or so), LRC will warn me, if I try to close it, that "X" photos are still syncing with the cloud. Am I right in assuming that what is happening is that versions which have been edited in LRC by me since capture are now syncing back to the cloud ? If so, presumably, if I re-edited these same photos a week, a month or whatever later the updated edits would re-sync all over again ?

- While I value the ability to take photos with my phone and have them automatically end up in my LRC folder structure, I don't want them to remain in the cloud or to sync back up to the cloud once I have them in my LRC folders. How can stop this (for me) unnecessary syncing process permanently, rather than just pressing the "pause" button in the little cloud icon at the top right of my screen ?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,177
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
- I find, though, that sometime later (maybe a day or so), LRC will warn me, if I try to close it, that "X" photos are still syncing with the cloud. Am I right in assuming that what is happening is that versions which have been edited in LRC by me since capture are now syncing back to the cloud ? If so, presumably, if I re-edited these same photos a week, a month or whatever later the updated edits would re-sync all over again ?

That's the nature (and benefit) of cloud syncing. If you have an image that is synced to your cloud account, that image will be visible (and editable) in any of your apps which are also synced to your account. Thus any changes you make in any of the connected apps will sync back to the cloud and from there to all the other connected apps.

- While I value the ability to take photos with my phone and have them automatically end up in my LRC folder structure, I don't want them to remain in the cloud or to sync back up to the cloud once I have them in my LRC folders. How can stop this (for me) unnecessary syncing process permanently, rather than just pressing the "pause" button in the little cloud icon at the top right of my screen ?
Using the "pause sync" button is akin to taking a sledgehammer to crack a nut. If you don't want images to sync, the simple remedy is to "unsync" those images. You can do that in LrClassic by the simple expedient of removing the image from the "All Synced Photographs" special collection, which you'll find in the Catalog Panel.

If the Classic catalog is sync-enabled, all synced images that are in the cloud are downloaded into that catalog and will be added to that special collection. That collection, therefore, contains all the images that are synced with the cloud, and by rule it logically follows that if you remove an image from the collection it can no longer remain synced to the cloud....so it is deleted from the cloud. In Classic, however, the image remains in the catalog in the same folder, it is just "unsynced" (which also means that if it's currently in a synced collection it will automatically be removed from that synced collection).
 
Top