• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

LR does not grab lens from Exif in development module

FrankU

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
51
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
6.14
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
I noticed recently, that the exif of my uploads contains the lens that the picture was taken with (if the lens is chipped Sony or Sigma), BUT in the development module it only reads and knows the Iso and exposure. I use import presets for my cameras re noise control depending on shooting ISO etc. But whichever way I click (default, auto, custom) on' lens profile' in Development it stays at the "built in' level and does not correct my images according to the actual lens that was used and sits listed and available in Exif ... .

Unless I scroll through the' supported lenses list' and click accordingly in the lens profile development window.

That is quite tedious, since I often do not recall which lens was used when. So I need to go into the E or G module, read the lens off the exif data there and then manually add it in the Development 'lens profile' for that one lens, over and over and over .... For every uploaded picture now ...

What is going wrong here. LR used to be smarter and knew its exif data in development. Can One somehow make LR read and use all Exif data when developing?
 

FrankU

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
51
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Just clarify - you're using Lr 6.14? In which case nothing has changed for nearly 2 years?
Yes, LR 6.14. But it used to know the lenses that are chipped ... However, I restructured, redid my LR catalogue from scratch, maybe something went amiss there ?

Can this be repaired somehow that exif is known to and can be used in the development module? Seems natural for LR to know what to do, but is not working ...
 

FrankU

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
51
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Are you suggesting the same lens(es) did pick this up before? Are the lenses that are more current than when 6.14 was released (in which case they won't be found)?

These lenses have been found before, automatically in LR 6.14. They still appear in the drop down list of 'lens profiles' in the development module right now; so they have a 'profile' , their names and designations are entered automatically into the exif data set upon upload, but they all require by hand scrolling down to their place in the profiles available list in development.
They do not come up at all when toggling through the 'default', the' auto'. the 'custom' settings in the lens profile window where nothing shows up. Then I have to find out what the exif knows about this lens and put its name in by hand, for every newly uploaded image ...
Quite annoying ...

All clear?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,227
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Can you select the lens from the pop-up list? If so, select it and then go to 'Setup'. Select 'Save New Lens Profile Defaults' and the problem should be fixed.
 

FrankU

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
51
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Can you select the lens from the pop-up list? If so, select it and then go to 'Setup'. Select 'Save New Lens Profile Defaults' and the problem should be fixed.

Thanks, this may actually work. My chipped lenses all appear in the pop-up 'lens profile list' in Develop. If I knew how and where to go to 'Setup' in LR this may work .
In Develop and LR 6.14 there is a similar settings possibility under "Set default settings..' . , but that resets just for one ISO, the Iso preset for that one picture ; Nothing with your words 'Save New Lens Profile Defaults' that I can find.

My import presets are essentially all geared to adjust the noise settings for each ISO differently at import, so there areas many import presets as thee are ISO values for each camera.
How can I add the lens default settings to each one, or is that the wrong approach. Sounds so unintuitive ...

I would be grateful if I knew where to add this-and-that lens to the lens default settings as exif tells me. Without messing up all the download presets ...
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,132
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Select the Make and Model of the lens in the Lens Corrections panel, then select the up/down arrows of the "Setup" box just above the Lens Profile that you've just selected, and click on "Set New Lens Profile Defaults". This sets the lens profile for that specific lens, and has no impact on any downloaded presets.

Screenshot_2020-03-04_17_35_02_2__png.png
 
Top