LR didn't like hard drive restructure - Mac

  • Thread starter Thread starter jthrasherphoto
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jthrasherphoto

Guest
I recently did a hard drive restructure and put all my photos on one external drive but I kept the folder hierarchy the same. I moved my folders over to the new drive, and copied the LR catalog over as well.

When I opened LR I expected to have missing folders and then I would just relocate the folders. In some cases that's all I had to do, but in other cases it did something really weird. Some of the folders that images were in were renamed as system folder type names and when I would "locate folder in finder" it would show me that system folder, although none of the images were of course in the folder, but the thumbnails would show up in LR as if they were.

There was one case where it separated a folder that had about 1''' images into multiple folders. Here's a screen shot of how the hierarchy looked. This is after I had fixed all the wedding folders.

hierarchy.jpg


thoughts? any ideas?
 
I'm sure it doesn't help but I have seen this before on Mac.

Can you fill out your sig so we can see what you are running please? That will answer my main question: What version of Lightroom are you running?
 
jthrasherphoto, that is the info need, but it isn't in your Signature so it appears in all posts from you. Fill in the Signature under User CP in Toolbar above.

Thanks,

Don
 
Mick, I'm still a bit of a Mac newbie, so I've never seen that before. Any idea how it happens?

And Jonathan, I didn't realise you're still running 1.1. Any particular reason you haven't upgraded to 1.3.1 yet?

Did you tell me you've just switched to Leopard, or am I imagining things? I'm wondering if that could be a factor in the muddle.
 
Version 1.1

I would seriously recommend upgrading to 1.3.1.

If you can undo the move by going back to backups, do that before upgrading Lightroom. Otherwise, see what the latest version makes of it and report back here.
 
I had exactly the same problem when I did the same thing. I went back to a previous back up and then created a dummy file on the new drive and got LR to import it from the location. Now LR was seeing the new drive. I then deleted the file and then shut down LR. I copied the files across to the new drive and then opened LR and selected synchronize folder from the top level and it found all the correct folders this time. If you can, save all your metadata to the files before you import them so that LR can read the correct data.
I never did find out why the Mac did what it did.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top