• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Lr Classic v9 Breaks Third-Party Export Plugins

James Clay

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2019
Messages
5
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic v9
Operating System
Windows 10
Hi all, haven’t seen mention of it here but thought i would draw attention to it in case anyone else relies on third party export plugins (e.g. LRTimelapse).

Adobe have introduced a bug in the Lr 9 export process which breaks third party plugin exports. The export process ignores any settings specified by the third party export plugin such as file type, resizing or bit depth and instead exports with default settings.

For example, choosing LRTimelapse tiff export, a highly compressed jpg image (with tiff file extension) is created. If a resizing is specified, no resizing occurs.

Same is true for LRTimelapse jpg exports. When exporting using the plugin, a highly compressed jpg file is produced. If you had specified resizing such as to 4K dimensions, no resizing occurs and the file is exported at native dimension.

Gunther Wegner the developer of LRTimelapse has confirmed it’s an Lr 9 bug and logged with adobe. There are other 3rd party export plugin authors reporting the behaviour too.

There is a temporary work around if you have already upgrade to Lr 9, but anyone using Lightroom for a timelapse workflow involving LRTimelapse would probably be best to stick with Lr 8.4.1 until the bug is resolved.

The bug is described in more detail over on the LRTimelapse Forums Here if anyone here is working with Timelapse photography along with a temporary workaround if you have already upgraded to Lr9 and can’t roll back.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,800
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thanks for letting us know James. We've confirmed that it's got through to the right engineers and they're actively investigating.
 

James Clay

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2019
Messages
5
From my side, I have only been able to test the LRTimelapse export plugin, posting my findings to the LRT thread I linked above. From what I have read it has the potential to affect other 3rd party plugins but have not been able to test as I don't use any others and have not had the NIK collection for many years.

I guess it may depend on how the plugins implement the export within the SDK. There are two reports here (one of which is Gunther's posting)
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,843
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks for letting us know James. We've confirmed that it's got through to the right engineers and they're actively investigating.
Which means a 9.0.1 release sooner or later.

phil
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,837
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Which means a 9.0.1 release sooner or later.

phil
I would not expect anything for at least 30 days after 9.0 release. And then I would expect to see a 9.1 as x.x.1 releases are usually something released quickly to put out a fire. I see nothing in 9.0 that is a show stopper.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
32
Location
Surprise, AZ USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I don't know if it works the same as in Photoshop, but when I updated the Photographer's Plan, in Photoshop, my older Topaz filters were still there (and still work), my older Nik filters were still there (but will require me to reactivate each plugin with its own unique number), but my Redfield plugins were not there.

I went into C>Programs>Adobe (PC) and found that in addition to "Adobe Photoshop CC2019" was a new folder, "Adobe Photoshop 2020". Its Plugins folder was empty, so I copied and pasted the Redfield folder from 2019, and the Redfield plugins now work.
 

James Clay

New Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2019
Messages
5
Hi Keith, sadly not such a simple fix in this instance, but thanks for chipping in non-the-less, always appreciated.

The LRT export plugin is correctly installed and licensed, residing in the correct folders and is fully activated via the LRTimelapse software. It forms a small part of a much larger larger workflow and software solution (LRTimelapse), which allows key-framed editing and ramping of all Lr Development parameters throughout a time-lapse sequence (particularly useful for day-night/night-day sequences) via processing and exchange of xmp metadata. The export plugin is one link in a much larger workflow and combined software solution.

I believe the bug is quite specific in that it breaks certain calls in the SDK for plugin developers which ignores custom export settings parameters.

The developer of LRTimelaspe has release a temporary workaround solution, and also an update to LRTimelapse which integrates the temporary fix pending Adobe's bug-fix. This is available over on the LRT website for anyone here affected and discussed here.
 
Top