• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

LR 6.14 Architecture

philsavoie1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4
Lightroom Version
6.14
Operating System
macOS 10.13 High Sierra
Hi I'm in need of a guru to help me sort out my catalogue and basic architecture. I've been a user since LR3- don't need operational help. I'm loosing pictures in the catalogue - they exist on disc (Hard drive backup) but things are not syncing up properly when I reopen the catalogue. Somethings not right and I need the basic LR structure looked at by an expert as it's a recurring problem thats plagued me for awhile and it needs sorting out . With Zoom this is easily done. Its probally an easy fix but I'm terrified my own fiddling will only make it worse. Any takers? Thank you in advance. Phil
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,491
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Welcome to the forum.
In the Library Module there is a submenu item labeled {Find All Missing Photos} on the {Library} menu. This will create a special collection of missing photos in the Catalog panel. What happens when you run that? When "I'm loosing pictures in the catalogue - they exist on disc (Hard drive backup) but things are not syncing up properly when I reopen the catalogue." What are you doing to fix this? Are they truly missing?

Are you moving your master images around using Finder? And when you do the path changes and the path recorded in the Lightroom Catalog is no longer valid. Could this be the source of your problem?
 

philsavoie1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4
Thank you for commenting. I’m aware that you must move/rename folders with LR or it won’t see them later. I’ve spent a few hours going through the issues with a cert Adobe expert he recommended speaking to someone above his knowledge base to clean up the layout. About a year ago I installed the latest Apple OS and it blew up LR and PS - had to rebuild everything and didn’t get it right or I should say it hasn’t been right since. Had Adobe support on screen share today they reinstalled LR but due to the poor telephone connection via India neither of us could understand the other and it wasn’t resolved. Supposedly the issue was kicked up a level but haven’t heard back from them and Im not holding my breath. Hence my request for an expert to Zoom with here. Thank you again for commenting, appreciate your consideration.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,118
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
he recommended speaking to someone above his knowledge base to clean up the layout
had to rebuild everything and didn’t get it right or I should say it hasn’t been right since
Are you able to elaborate on either of these statements? And by "architecture", are you referring to folder structure? Do you remember the folder structure of your images before you needed to reinstall LR? Is it exactly the same today? And while you are aware of how to move images, did yo try Cletus' suggestion above? This may yield how extensive the problem is with missing images.

--Ken
 

philsavoie1

New Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2020
Messages
4
Hi Ken, thank you for replying. Yes by architecture I mean my folder structure from the bottom up. Sadly I don't remember, I believe whats happening is I've wrongly opened an older backup folder which has resulted in the 'missing pictures'. It can't find the pictures as Cletus suggested because in that date of backup never had them imported. As I've just continued to build on user presets, picture settings etc since LR3 it looks a mess to me. For example I have somehow created 2 LR settings folders over time. I'm not sure if it's ok to delete the one dating back to 2011 or if the current settings need it to stay put - please refer to the attached jpgs of my drive. Why are there all of these temp settings - outlined in red. Why are the outside the folder? And why does the 'current' settings folder read June 5? This was the date I tried to sort things with the expert. I'd expect it to read 3 July - the last time it was opened, shouldn't this update each time? I could re-import the 'missing' images but I'm not sure if the processing work will carry over. At the moment it all seems a bit of a dark art - to me anyway. What would resolve the issue is someone who understands these finer points having a bash. To my mind this is an perfect use of Zoom screensharing. Glad to pay for someones knowledge and time. Finding answers has proved frustrating to date. Thank you again for your thoughts. Phil
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,118
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Before you work on files and folder structure, might I suggest first getting a handle on your your catalogs so you can find the most current working version(s)? How many catalogs do you normally use, and how many backups of them do you have? Ideally, you want the working catalog itself if there are no issues. If not, then you want the latest backup of it. It is not clear which you are currently using as you believe that the catalog is missing images and is probably an older backup. Is this catalog the latest backup available?

I would not import any files into any catalogs just yet. First make sure you have the best catalog to work from. And as long as LR is closed, you can delete the temporary files that you are showing.

--Ken
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,660
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
To my mind this is an perfect use of Zoom screensharing. Glad to pay for someones knowledge and time.
I usually send people to Steve Bye for video consults, and I think our very own Dan Hartford does calls too.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,660
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
She wasn't the last time we spoke, but that might have changed.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,118
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,660
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Oooops, thanks, Steve was linked too until I copied and pasted! Thanks for sorting that Ken.
 
Top