rcantrell51
New Member
- Joined
- Sep 27, 2026
- Messages
- 2
- Lightroom Version Number
- 15.4.1
- Operating System
- macOS 26 Tahoe
- iOS
All,
I have LightRoom Classic on my PC, Mac Mini and a MacBook Pro. I primarily use my Mac Mini for LightRoom Classic. I am having a problem with losing a file that I am working. My procedure is download the pictures and delete the pictures that I do not want. Then I edit pictures that I want to keep and post them or email them to the family. After that I move the file to the Library set up the catalog and move the remaining pictures to the file in the catalog. After that step I close LightRoom Classic.
On three occasions after closing LightRoom Classic I will go back in the next day and moved the file that I had previously worked on from the Library to Develop and edit some additional pictures. On these three occasions I have deleted a picture while in Develop and when I delete that picture I lose the complete file. I have to take it to a computer repair to have that file restored. After the last time the computer store told me what to do and it has been successful. Except for today.
Took pictures of my granddaughter's VolleyBall game yesterday and went through process. This morning I opened the file and moved the file to Develop and edited two pictures without a problem, but when I deleted a picture I lost the file. I did the step that the computer repair shop told me to do, but that did not bring up the file.
What can I do to restore these pictures/file? Why do I lose these files when I come to Lightroom to do additional deletion of pictures in the file. I loss the whole file not just the picture that I deleted.
If you have a response to restoring this loss file please make your answer as basic as possible. I am technically challenged.
Thank you for reading and any answers that can be provided.
I have LightRoom Classic on my PC, Mac Mini and a MacBook Pro. I primarily use my Mac Mini for LightRoom Classic. I am having a problem with losing a file that I am working. My procedure is download the pictures and delete the pictures that I do not want. Then I edit pictures that I want to keep and post them or email them to the family. After that I move the file to the Library set up the catalog and move the remaining pictures to the file in the catalog. After that step I close LightRoom Classic.
On three occasions after closing LightRoom Classic I will go back in the next day and moved the file that I had previously worked on from the Library to Develop and edit some additional pictures. On these three occasions I have deleted a picture while in Develop and when I delete that picture I lose the complete file. I have to take it to a computer repair to have that file restored. After the last time the computer store told me what to do and it has been successful. Except for today.
Took pictures of my granddaughter's VolleyBall game yesterday and went through process. This morning I opened the file and moved the file to Develop and edited two pictures without a problem, but when I deleted a picture I lost the file. I did the step that the computer repair shop told me to do, but that did not bring up the file.
What can I do to restore these pictures/file? Why do I lose these files when I come to Lightroom to do additional deletion of pictures in the file. I loss the whole file not just the picture that I deleted.
If you have a response to restoring this loss file please make your answer as basic as possible. I am technically challenged.
Thank you for reading and any answers that can be provided.

Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in 