• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

"Locking" Edits

Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
No, 'fraid not. Often requested, but not yet possible. Some folks will use one of the colour labels to designate "finished".
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,537
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
You could also make a Snapshot of the edited image. Then you could always easily get back to it if you inadvertently make further edits.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,390
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
You could also make a Snapshot of the edited image. Then you could always easily get back to it if you inadvertently make further edits.
My images are complete only after they are "Published" using the Publish Service. Each time they are Published. a "publish" entry gets entered into the Develop history log. I can always revert to that point to return to that develop state. I also use a colored label that indicates "Published" and another colored label to indicate "Complete but not Published" Any time I choose to further "develop" one of those images, I create a new virtual copy and work from that. If you have integrated your workflow thoroughly into LR you only need to make one pass through the process.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
493
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I like the snapshot option and also when exported there's a step for that in history.
Biggest problem I have is that I can rarely open an old photo and not illuminate it in the light of what I've learned since I 'finished' with it. With improvements in LR and PS, there's always ways to improve them. Very sidetracking ...and for me they are perpetual works in progress.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,439
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Another possible route is to rename the image with a small a small code added to the original filename such as "cf" for "Client Final" or "me" for "Master Edit".
Obviously not fool-proof but it does provide a another visual cue.
The colour labels already suggested are a good solution if they are not being used for some other task.


Tony Jay
 
Joined
Aug 16, 2008
Messages
1,107
Location
Hong Kong
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I like the snapshot option and also when exported there's a step for that in history.
Biggest problem I have is that I can rarely open an old photo and not illuminate it in the light of what I've learned since I 'finished' with it. With improvements in LR and PS, there's always ways to improve them. Very sidetracking ...and for me they are perpetual works in progress.

I am exactly the same. I often carryout some improvement / upgrades to previously "finished" photos. I create snapshots of the way they were and then after improvement. the difference between PV2010 and PV2012 is sometimes quite remarkable, particularly when accompanied with improved technique. I agree that they are perpetual works in progress !
 
Joined
Jul 27, 2011
Messages
75
Location
Rutland, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks for those ideas, I'll add the suggestions to my work flow. I am surprised by now a lock flag isn't there, probably my fear is making changes when syncing various images. The other thing I thought of was deleting history when finished editing so any mistaken edits afterwards would obvious, are syncing changes written in history and reversible ?
Thanks for your advice.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,390
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
... I am surprised by now a lock flag isn't there, probably my fear is making changes when syncing various images. The other thing I thought of was deleting history when finished editing so any mistaken edits afterwards would obvious, are syncing changes written in history and reversible ?
Thanks for your advice.
There is a link at the top of this webpage that I would encourage you to use to communicate your ideas to Adobe.

If you use the Publish Service instead of creating a Snapshot, an entry is written into the develop history for that image. It works like the snapshot in that selecting the history entry brings the develop state back to that point in history. Presumably a Published image (exported derivative) represents a "final" and a state in history that can be returned to over and over.
 
Top