• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! There's new Presets in all versions, Super Resolution on the desktop, new Sharing options and more. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

List View plugin problem

Joined
Apr 3, 2019
Messages
6
Lightroom Version
Classic 10.2
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
Is anyone using the '"jb List View" plugin who might help ? I have installed & registered it for use with Lr Classic / W10 Pro & on opening, it works as expected. However, I have a problem with renaming the columns. I can change them and initially they work ok but after back up & closing Lr, when I restart, the names have gone back to factory settings. Is this how it's supposed to work or have I missed something ? I emailed the author last weekend with my query but so far without a reply.

1 answer

Like



Comment
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,896
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,757
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
@johnbeardy you’re the expert!
Never heard of it ;)

Seriously, the columns are saved in LR's preferences which are only saved when you exit LR. I'd suggest changing a few columns, and then immediately restarting LR to see if that clears the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,757
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Yes, because it proved too unreliable, and too difficult to bolt into this plugin. I may do something with a completely new plugin and would probably then offer a discount to recent ListView purchasers.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,434
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,757
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
I can at least show you what I've been brewing - see
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,434
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
J
I can at least show you what I've been brewing - see
Can't wait. Need any beta-testers? ;)

Just wondering if this new software will allow import or export of custom metadata fields?

Phil Burton
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,757
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
No. Remember the rule, Phil, that one plugin cannot change another plugin's custom fields.
 
Top