• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Linking photos on a hard drive to Lightroom

Status
Not open for further replies.

CatEarly76

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2013
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
I've just upgraded from Lightroom 6 to Lightroom Classic. I previously used Lightroom 6 linked with photos saved on my laptop. I also backed the photo files up on a couple of hard drives, but did not link these with Lightroom. I'm now taking more photos (the dangers of wildlife photography!) and my laptop is getting full and slow. Is there a way of transferring the link ie so that Lightroom Classic is linked with the photos on my hard drive instead of with the photos on my laptop (so that I can then delete the versions on my laptop)? Or is it easier to delete the photos saved on one of my hard drives (they are backed up on a second hard drive for safety!) and start linking them from scratch? It's making my head spin!! Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,571
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
If you have a folder with images linked in Lightroom, and you have a copy of that folder in another location, then you can ‘relink’ the folder in the catalog in the following way. Right-click on the folder in the folder panel and choose ‘Update Folder Location’. In the dialog that follows navigate to the folder in the other location and select it. Done. Now you can delete the original folder to make room on your hard disk.
 

CatEarly76

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2013
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
If you have a folder with images linked in Lightroom, and you have a copy of that folder in another location, then you can ‘relink’ the folder in the catalog in the following way. Right-click on the folder in the folder panel and choose ‘Update Folder Location’. In the dialog that follows navigate to the folder in the other location and select it. Done. Now you can delete the original folder to make room on your hard disk.
Brilliant! That was so easy. Thanks very much, probably saved me hours of trawling the internet for the solution. Now I can focus on catching up on my massive editing backlog... :)
 

BobMc

Active Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Messages
116
Location
Sevierville, TN - USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
Be aware that LRC is a non destructive editor. This means the edits you make to an image are stored in the LRC Catalog and the original image remains unaltered. Your LR catalog's Data Base system is where all edits to the images reside. This requires you to have a backup of the LRC Catalog in addition to backups of the original images.
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2022
Messages
13
If you have a folder with images linked in Lightroom, and you have a copy of that folder in another location, then you can ‘relink’ the folder in the catalog in the following way. Right-click on the folder in the folder panel and choose ‘Update Folder Location’. In the dialog that follows navigate to the folder in the other location and select it. Done. Now you can delete the original folder to make room on your hard disk.
I would also use "Synchronise Folder" (just above "Update Folder Location") after changing the folder just to make sure that the new folder contents really are an exact copy of the original.

Synchronise Folder will let you know if any photos are missing or if there are any additional photos.

For example, if you've done any editing using plugins such as Photoshop or DxO, Lightroom will have created Tiff files that may not be in your "new" folder structure.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top