• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Lightroom Web move Album out of Folder

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
?
Operating System
  1. macOS 11 Big Sur
Hi,

I use Lightroom Classic but then sync Smart Previews of all my Collections to Lightroom Web in order to be able to browse my photos away from my main computer.

I have synced a number of Collections up which show up as Albums. I then made some folders in LR Web in order to give some form of organisation to them (as Collection Sets in LRC don't sync).

I have an Album that I accidentally moved to be a child of a folder but should not be in a folder and should just sit at the top level. No matter what I try, I cannot figure out how to move it out of the folder. I can move it to another folder but not out of a folder.

I'm a web developer myself and have actually built drag and drop web interfaces exactly like this myself in the past and to achieve this function, we'd normally add a sort of hover area, the full height of all the child albums to the left and dropping an item there would move it out. LR Web doesn't appear to allow this.

How can I move this Album out?

Thanks,
Neil
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Click on the ellipsis (...) and chose ”Move To”. Navigate to the top level (Albums) and choose Move one the upper right corner of the dialog


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I don't seem to have an ellipsis?

There's not one on the Album in the list? There is one at the top right above the photo grid but there's no "Move" option in there weirdly?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,644
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
e2ad9826642cb300c04c93e04eadcabb.png



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Weirdly.....drag it down, not up, i.e. drag it down below the bottom folder and you should then see all the "loose" albums highlighted as a block so just drop the album anywhere into the block and it will sort itself into the correct location.
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Oddly none of those ideas work. Here's a video. I wish to move the "iPhone" Album out to the top level:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6N53YPVafiw
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Oddly none of those ideas work. Here's a video. I wish to move the "iPhone" Album out to the top level:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6N53YPVafiw
That video looks to have processed now.

Any suggestions? I tried to demonstrate several methods in that video but none seem to work?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,373
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
OK, it looks like it doesn't work when there are no "loose" albums as per your setup. So create a (temporary) album, which will slot into position below all the folders. Then you should be able to open the folder and drag the target album down to that "loose" album where it should be highlighted when you hover over it. Release to drop should then work.
 

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
212
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
OK, it looks like it doesn't work when there are no "loose" albums as per your setup. So create a (temporary) album, which will slot into position below all the folders. Then you should be able to open the folder and drag the target album down to that "loose" album where it should be highlighted when you hover over it. Release to drop should then work.
Perfect!

That works! Looks like a strange edge case scenario to me. Thanks all!
 
Top