• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Lightroom prints 2 copies when only 1 is asked for.

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic Version: 9.0
Operating System
Windows 10
I am printing a sample page from Lightroom on a Canon Pixma Pro-100 printer. For some reason, it printed two copies of the page when only one copy was specified in the Printer Panel. I have printed a one page document from Word and it only prints one copy, so I am wondering if there is something going on in Lightroom that I need to know about.
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
UPDATE - I tried printing the same document to two different printers, the Pro-11 and an HP Laser printer and both printers print two copies of the page when only one is specified in the Printer panel, so it would seem that Lightroom and not the printer is the origin of the problem.

WG
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Paul, interesting stab in the dark. It could be as I am using the templates that come with Lightroom and then I modified them a bit to put all the images on a single page as it is only a "proof" print-out of sorts. How would I find that out? Maybe I will try another regular template that I haven't modified and see if that prints only one page, at least to start with.

WG
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Well, that didn't work as hoped. I tried another stock preset Print Template from Lightroom with completely different images and it still prints two copies of the output. The plot thickens.

WG
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Cletus, this is a Windows Snip of the Dialog box. Hope this is the right one.

1575254971134.png


I am running this on a Windows 10 desktop.

WG
 

gstrek

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
16
Location
Detroit, Michigan USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
4.x
Do you get two files if you Print to a JPEG file? That may also help narrow it down to a print driver or LR issue.
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Gary, I tried printing to a file (.prn) and it only creates one of them. Is it possible that it would "print" two copies within the one .prn file?

WesternGuy
 

gstrek

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
16
Location
Detroit, Michigan USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
4.x
Gary, I tried printing to a file (.prn) and it only creates one of them. Is it possible that it would "print" two copies within the one .prn file?

WesternGuy
Print it and see. I was suggesting print to jpeg not to a prn file. Then open the jpeg and see if there are 2 images. Also see if you get 1 or 2 jpeg files.
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
The "Print to File" only produced two files, unless the "two file" output went to one file. If the latter, is there anyw
Print it and see. I was suggesting print to jpeg not to a prn file. Then open the jpeg and see if there are 2 images. Also see if you get 1 or 2 jpeg files.
Yes, I can try that and see what the results is.

WG
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Gary, it produces only one file (jpg) and when I open it, it appears that there is only one set of images in the jpg file. It would appear that this "print to file" process is only producing one copy.

WesternGuy
 

gstrek

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2014
Messages
16
Location
Detroit, Michigan USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
4.x
Gary, it produces only one file (jpg) and when I open it, it appears that there is only one set of images in the jpg file. It would appear that this "print to file" process is only producing one copy.

WesternGuy
That suggests to me that your layout, and layout style (Single Image) is good, assuming the jpg file produces exactly the print you were expecting it to. You may have narrowed it down to something in the Page Setup (paper size) or Print Settings.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,105
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If you haven't already, you could try resetting the Lightroom Preferences File. That often cures weird problems.
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
742
Location
Cheshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I hope I'm not insulting anyone..................... But at first I didn't realise that both the "Print" button and the "Printer" button initiate a print. So I clicked the Printer button to make sure that I had the right printer, then the Print button - and of course got two copies!
 

WesternGuy

Active Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
214
Location
Alberta, Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I hope I'm not insulting anyone..................... But at first I didn't realise that both the "Print" button and the "Printer" button initiate a print. So I clicked the Printer button to make sure that I had the right printer, then the Print button - and of course got two copies!
Not insulting at all - David, that is an interesting observation. I will definitely have to check it out. IMHO, if that is the case, then I would think this is an undocumented feature (?) that should be corrected. Personally, I only want to print if I press the <Print> button.

WesternGuy
 
Top