Lightroom import - dng

  • Thread starter Thread starter Depechie
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Depechie

Guest
Hello everyone.

I have a question about the DNG format !
I imported some RAW files from my Nikon D4'x into Lightroom with the option to transform them into DNG.
After that I did some adjustments to the pictures and in lightroom you can see this because of the small +/- indicator in the thumbnail preview. ( so all goes well )

BUT, when I moved the files from my laptop to my external HD and did a reimport (with the option 'import at location' ), all my adjustments were 'hard burned' into the image !!
In other words no more indicator at the thumbnail preview AND I don't have the original start settings of the picture.

Can anyone explain this ? I thought the DNG format kept all adjustments ? ( or am I wrong )
 
Hello everyone.

I have a question about the DNG format !
I imported some RAW files from my Nikon D4'x into Lightroom with the option to transform them into DNG.
After that I did some adjustments to the pictures and in lightroom you can see this because of the small +/- indicator in the thumbnail preview. ( so all goes well )

BUT, when I moved the files from my laptop to my external HD and did a reimport (with the option 'import at location' ), all my adjustments were 'hard burned' into the image !!
In other words no more indicator at the thumbnail preview AND I don't have the original start settings of the picture.

Can anyone explain this ? I thought the DNG format kept all adjustments ? ( or am I wrong )

Welcome to the forum, please take a moment to fill in your signature in the UserCP (top left of the page) it can help us to help you.
First it is easier to move things within LR rather than outside. It sounds like you removed them from the database and then reimported, hence the database will have no history to display. I would try in the Library module selecting all the images you shifted and then in the metadata drop down menu "read metadata from files". I'm not sure if this will work but I think it should.
 
As Geoff has said, DNG keeps all of the changes you've made to the file (as long as you've saved them), and does so in Metadata, so they're not exactly hard burned into the file - you can always hit Reset to get back to default settings without damaging the file.

On the other hand, the history of settings can't be stored in the metadata, which is why when you imported into a new catalog, the settings were read as your import settings and didn't show any new changes.

The way to get round this is to use the Import/Export Catalog function if you're moving between different machines, which transfers the applicable part of your database, which holds the history of changes.

If you're just transferring onto another hard drive, don't delete and reimport, just move them within LR as Geoff suggested. You'd need import your target folder on your hard drive so that LR can see it. Easiest way to do this is to import a 'dummy image' at that location and then delete it. Then you can drag and drop within LR, taking all of your adjustments along too.
 
Well thanks Geoff and Victoria for all the detailed info !
And yes... I did move the files myself instead of doing it in Lightroom :( ( I wanted to start with a clean Lightroom and new folders )

But reading out the metadata again didn't help. The latest changes are now set as the default view...
 
Well thanks Geoff and Victoria for all the detailed info !
And yes... I did move the files myself instead of doing it in Lightroom :( ( I wanted to start with a clean Lightroom and new folders )

But reading out the metadata again didn't help. The latest changes are now set as the default view...

I have been down that road and now try and move things within LR or at least move complete folders which can be relinked easily.
 
Well thanks Geoff and Victoria for all the detailed info !
And yes... I did move the files myself instead of doing it in Lightroom :( ( I wanted to start with a clean Lightroom and new folders )

But reading out the metadata again didn't help. The latest changes are now set as the default view...

Moving photo files and folders outside of LR..... BAAAAAD!!!!:evil::evil::evil::evil:

Now go sit in the corner for an hour and then come back and tell us how sorry you are! ;);)

All seriousness aside, it doesn't take anyone long to figure out that moving your photos around with the OS isn't a good idea, but we all try it at least once. Now you know....
 
Bill, I must be naive or foolhardy, by the tone of your post. And while that may be true, I think that's a rash generalization. Moving files outside of Lightroom isn't bad, it's just that you need to understand what that's going to mean to Lightroom and how to handle it. It isn't rocket science, but perhaps it does require a little more attention than working within Lightroom.

It's the usual tradeoff of convenience (and perhaps safety) with limited functionality, versus complete flexibility requiring some know-how, and perhaps some risk.

I have no problem with people recommending working within Lightroom where possible, but don't go thinking that's the only way.
 
Easy please gentlemen - thanks.
There is always more than one way to skin a cat;);)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top