Lightroom crashes at launch

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
LR 6 "has stopped working" at launch on my laptop (Windows 10 pro -x64). This laptop does not have a discrete graphics card. LR6 WAS running fine on that machine under Windows 8.1. On my desktop (also Win 10-x64) LR6.1 is running fine. I have tried:
  • renaming the preferences file (to hide it),
  • swapping the LR 5 and LR 6 preference files,
  • running LR in windows compatibility node for Win 8 and win 7,
  • re-installing LR6.
None of these help. Same failure. I do not know if this is LR 6.1 (since I can't get it to stay up long enough to go to "about").
Any ideas?
 
Last edited:

Leicakillen

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
3
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Hi
I have the same problem - only solution so far for me is to run the program as administrator. But that cannot really be the right solution....strange...When I run the LR as administrator everything works fine. On W7 everything was fine, never had a problem.
Regards
/Anders
 

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Run as admin did not help. Also, it gives the message "signed out of LR mobile. Please sign in". But I never installed LR mobile, just re-installed LR6 (2 copies not running at the same time is a permitted arrangement). Since the laptop and desktop are both running Win 10 Pro -x64, if it's the OS causing it, it is a really strange problem.

My Win account IS an Admin account on both.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,827
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Should I copy my original posts to the bug forum and only use that forum from now on for this topic?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,827
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Just post us a link to that forum so we can follow its progress too, and we'll carry it on over there.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,827
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thanks for posting the link. Have you been able to get into preferences to disable the GPU setting? And have you updated to 6.1.1 which is the latest release?
 

Leicakillen

New Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2015
Messages
3
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
I have done all this, latest version of LR and disabled the GPU - still have the freeze problem. The only solution for me - which I can live with - is to run the program as administrator. Must though say I am surprised that no one so far has been able to help me. I have the same problem on to different Toshiba laptops. I had no problem whatsoever with W7.
Still waiting....
Thanks,
Regrads
Anders
 

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks for posting the link. Have you been able to get into preferences to disable the GPU setting? And have you updated to 6.1.1 which is the latest release?

This is a laptop, so there is no GPU. Its IS LR6.1.1 and it crashes DURING the splash screen, so I can't do anything with the settings.:(
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,773
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
This is a laptop, so there is no GPU. Its IS LR6.1.1 and it crashes DURING the splash screen, so I can't do anything with the settings.:(

There will be a GPU, even if it's on-board (such as on my MacBook), so I would first try to change the preferences as per the link that davidedric has just posted.
 

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,827
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Try a copy and paste of
Code:
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/lightroom-gpu-faq.html#Manually%20disable%20the%20graphics%20processor
 

John W

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
38
Location
East Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I have had some strange and random problems with software running on W10 (not specifically LR). I was surprised to find that some of these were fixed by running cmd.exe as an administrator then typing "SFC /scannow" . This, took about 10 minutes and I believe, replaced corrupt Windows system files. It's quick and easy so may be worth a try in case the problem is not within LR.

John.
 

DocDJ

Docinator
Joined
Jul 16, 2015
Messages
31
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I updated to LR 6.3 and now I can get into LR and even import files, but when I try to access the preferences, it crashes as before. I have deleted the preferences file and LR happily re-creates it, but crashes when I try to access the file. I also tried it by making LR create a new catalog in a different folder, but that didn't help either. Still baffled :(

UDPATE: disabled the Intel HD graphics (built-in) driver in Device Manager for my Celeron Windows 10 system, then re-started LR 6.3. I can NOW access preferences. I then turned off "use graphics processor" in LR, enabled the HD Graphics in Device Manager and restarted LR. All working now. The cause, as previously suspected, is an old graphics driver for Windows 7 (even thought the PC shipped with Windows 8.1) from Intel (it's the ig7icd64.dll file version 10.18.10.4252). Driver updating says there is no newer driver.
 
Last edited:
Top