• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Develop module Lightroom Classic Develop module causing program to shutdown

JimBee

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Operating System
Windows 10
Lightroom works find until I change modules from Book to Develop or from Library to Develop when after about 10 seconds of waiting for the Develop module to load it shuts the entire program down. Their are no error messages shown and I have to restart the program several times in order to get into the Develop module which then will allow me to go between the Library or Book module and back a number of times before repeating the process. It appears to me to have something to do with the amount of time it takes Lightroom to access the Develop module, to slow and it crashes. I have looked on the web and not found anything exactly like this. Appreciate any help. Jim
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,292
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Are you running the latest version of Lightroom Classic? You should be running Lightroom Classic version: 7.4 [ 1176617 ]
How much free space do you have on C: for working storage. Lightroom probably could use 100GB free for temporary files.
 

Hal P Anderson

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,951
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Also, try going to the Performance tab of the Preferences dialogue and turning off Use Graphics Processor. That might help.
 

JimBee

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Are you running the latest version of Lightroom Classic? You should be running Lightroom Classic version: 7.4 [ 1176617 ]

I was not running the latest version of Lightroom Classic and I downloaded and installed the update. Also I did as Hal suggested and turned off the Graphic Processor which seemed to turn the corner on the problem. I have been working for a couple of hours now and not a problem going back and forth. I think I will have our IT person come in and see if he can resolve the issue with the graphic processor although I can't say I see much difference without it. All that remains is to thank you both for your help. Greatly appreciated!!
 

JimBee

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
6
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Also, try going to the Performance tab of the Preferences dialogue and turning off Use Graphics Processor. That might help.
Thanks Hal ! See my earlier reply. Your suggestion worked a treat.
Jim
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,292
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
I think I will have our IT person come in and see if he can resolve the issue with the graphic processor although I can't say I see much difference without it
. Only some later GPU's are supported by LR. Supported GPUs may need an updated driver to work correctly.
You can click the {System Info} button on the performance tab (Also found on the Help Menu) to see how LR has evaluated your GPU.
The GPU acts as an additional CPU core for these LR tasks
  • Speeds up the task of adjusting images in Develop module.
  • (Windows-only)Accelerates rendering of images in Library module's Grid view, Loupe view, and Filmstrip.
And speeds up video rendering for:
  • Provides a significant speed improvement on high-resolution displays, such as 4K and 5K monitors
 
Top